Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River FR3 reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
3.6
Factory warranty
2.9

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

42 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jody Hicks

Alabama

Reviewed on 2017-01-01

RV reviewed2017 Forest River FR3 30DS

View listings

4.2
We are first time buyers and have had a great experience so far. Everything has worked as advertised. Purchase - Received amazing support from Bankston Motorhomes who bent over backwards for us and answered all of our questions prior to the purchase. Believe we received a fair price. They are all heavily discounted which I guess is supposed to make you feel like you got a great deal. We understand it is an entry level model and have read all of the horror stories but we have been pleasantly surprised. Drivability - Installed a steering stabilizer before taking delivery after reading all of the reviews. I probably could have installed it myself after watching Safe T Plus's You Tube video. There are adjustments to be made after it is installed so keep that in mind otherwise you will have tracking issues. Without ever driving an RV before we loaded up our RAV4 on the car dolly and drove it home. We had no issues and I was surprised at how easy it was to maneuver. The engine was relatively quiet and only got loud when going up the mountain to get to the house. You will not be autocrossing this beast, but overall it handles well. Livability - We like the floor plan although we wanted the bunks, but decided against it because the RV that had them only had one air conditioner and we live in the deep south. We sacrificed that for the fact that we wanted 2 air conditioners, a 5500 Onan Generator and 2 refrigerators. Our only complaint for the living space is storage and cup holders which in the big scheme of things is not a big deal. I can fix the cup holders with after market stuff. As far as storage....can you really ever have enough? The storage underneath the RV seems to be more than adequate. Maiden Voyage - We took the FR3 to an RV park a few miles down the road and just decided to figure it out as best we could knowing if we forgot anything we were only 10 minutes from the house. I will have to say the park manager gave me a funny look when I told him I will need to fill up my grey and black water tanks......realizing 10 minutes later that when you hook up city water that those tanks fill up themselves through use... newby probs :). The pull out sofa bed was deemed not comfortable by our 13 year old so more than likely we will purchase a memory foam mattress which should work. The king bed slept great and the overhead bed was deemed satisfactory by the 10 year old. The furnace worked as advertised but it did smoke for about 30 minutes due to the oil on the components. After the smoke cleared the RV stayed comfortable that night with outside temperatures dropping to around 30 degrees. Upon a quick search of Google I discovered that the smoke was common with new furnances. So far we really love our FR3 and wanted to post a positive review so folks will know that things can go right as well. Stay safe!!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (73)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Balok

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-22

RV reviewed2019 Forest River FR3 33DS

View listings

1.8
Do not buy this RV . Any FR3 they are a piece of crap. I have 6397 miles and nothing but headaches. I do not write reviews but I want to warn you. I have fixed over 5 items myself. My slide out did not want to work bad module. My back AC did not work and low water pressure. DO NOT BUY! To many other problems to list. I’m not rich and I cannot afford a 250k RV should of stuck with a expensive travel trailer. I have had 3 of them not as many problems on all 3 in 20yrs as this pos FR3. I feel like I went down in quality.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff King

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-11-18

RV reviewed2021 Forest River FR3 34DS

View listings

1.4
We have had problems from Day 1 . Before it left Forest Rivers manufacturing facility ,they couldn't get it started. The delivery driver found that the heat for the cab didn't work and the alignment was out (pulling to the right really BAD. Ford the Manufacture of F53 Classis DOSEN"T WARRANTY THE ALIGNMENT OR THE TIRES, I WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE MAKER OF THE TIRES IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM. REMEMBER THIS IS A BRAND NEW RV 260 MILES ON IT. I can go on and on and on. My advise would be to look at a different unit, but ford makes the Chassis for all of them . my email is listed if you would have any Question. jeff
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Mozingo

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-07-05

RV reviewed2017 Forest River FR3 32DS

View listings

5.0
We love our FR3 32DS. We are a family of 5 with 3 cats and a bird and we lived out of it full time for about 4 months and traveled over 14K miles in it on multiple vacation road trips. This RV is surprising nimble and easy to handle. We made small modifications like creating a hidden litter box and we upgraded the water heater to on-demand which made a huge difference in livability! The double AC units were a must living down in the deep south. Other favorite standard amenities were the king bed in the master, the bunk beds and a huge full sized refer. All in all we couldn't have asked for a more affordable class A RV with the comfort, reliability and amenities as this FR3!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Maruska

California

Reviewed on 2021-06-11

RV reviewed2014 Forest River FR3 30DS

View listings

5.0
24.7 foot RV on Mercedes Benz chassis. 27,000 miles, perfect shape. Upgraded levelers, mostly in storage but drove it to Illinois 3 times. Runs on diesel and get in the 20s or better. 2 slides, bedroom slides out the back and another slide out makes the living room wider. 5 speed forward gears takes you over mountains with ease while towing. Tow vehicle is a 2017 6 speed manual shift honda civic imported from the UK. Tow vehicle not included but will add on for $19,000. 89,000 for RV.This vehicle is close to showroom perfection. Blue Ox tow bar included. Car breaking system extra.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin Anderson

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-03-26

RV reviewed2019 Forest River FR3 32DS

View listings

4.8
We love this RV for the floor plan, new memory foam king sized bed. Loads of space and storage. We added front and rear stabilizer and anti sway bars, which really helped drive ability. All RVs should come with them but they don’t. Only 3000 miles, like brand new.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debbie

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-03-04

RV reviewed2021 Forest River FR3 34DS

View listings

4.6
Purchased new in Inidana and drove this cross country. Really handles well even up and down the mountains. Wow that one and half bath really came in handy while traveling, the king bed, washer and dryer, just a really loaded rig. Love it.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (22)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Puskarcik

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-02-13

RV reviewed2016 Forest River FR3

View listings

4.6
I have a 2016 forest river fr3. Besides some minor issues, slide and step gear, I love my RV. From Ohio and been across country twice, California. Love the layout. My only regret is only 1 air conditioner. In Florida now and very comfortable but in the summer I'd like to have the extra AC. Put a curtain rod across the cockpit and it cools down but I like it cold in the summer. Will upgrade to a forest river Georgetown in the future because I love the layout
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CM Parker

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-12-04

RV reviewed2019 Forest River FR3 30DS

View listings

4.4
I live in South Florida and purchased an 2019 FR3 30DS in late 2018. Since purchasing, I've put over 27000 miles and visited over 33 states in the US and Canada. My experience has been wonderful with my purchase. Never owning an RV previously, I researched online to learn about pricing and brands, as well as, the unit that worked best for me. This RV has performed incredibly well...There were issues during the first year (factory warranty covered) and all were resolved through Georgetown/Forest River warranty department. I've never experienced a problem with heating inside cabin during winter trips and love the drop down bed over the driver and passenger seats in front of RV. My RV I ordered with a Washer/Dryer which is located in the master bedroom in the the back of the coach. Its awesome for tailgating and football games and performs excellent while dry camping (large generator that runs all electrical with no problem) and it has two (2) A/C's which has been really nice. I cant say enough about my purchase and performance of my FR3 as well as the service issues and getting them resolved during it's first year of the warranty. As with the purchase of any new RV (depending on the owner especially if they are new to class A RV's), the learning curve can take some time and you'll most likely have a few issues that need to get resolved or corrected (it's a like a break in period). I also had 2 large solar panels added to my roof and after purchased I paid to have the entire RV re sealed with clear sealant around every window and cracks around entire RV from top to bottom. This is a great entry level Class A, that is on the low end for a purchase price but has many features of much higher priced class A RV's. I've been extremely satisfied with the purchase and performance and would highly recommend this RV to any small family looking to purchase and travel in a Class A RV who may have no previous experience with owning, driving, and living in a 30 foot Class A RV.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (29)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Gray

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-07-24

RV reviewed2018 Forest River FR3 25DS

View listings

2.2
Price was right but the quality of build was terrible. Obviously no quality control. Can't begin to list the list of really bad workmanship. Any warranty issues I took care of myself otherwise I would never get on the road.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 42 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review