Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway Reviews on RV Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Frank & Margaret Escolopio from Colorado says:

We purchased our 5th wheel the end of February 2017 We have been trying to get the deficiencies fixed since it was finally delivered in May 2017 and h

Read More (20 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our 5th wheel the end of February 2017 We have been trying to get the deficiencies fixed since it was finally delivered in May 2017 and have hit nothing but road blocks. We believe they are dragging their feet until the warranty is over.
- Frank & Margaret Escolopio, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-25 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This rv is really great. Lots of room and storage in and out that is what sold us. The bathroom upstairs is AWESOME with full size shower and lots of room.1/2 bath downstairs is really handy. Plenty of counterspace. Also wonderful pullout pantry. Fireplace is a great addition on a cold eveningšŸ˜€foldout stairs to outside is really nice. Really did not have anything we disliked.Does have washer/dryer spot but never got one. Vaccum system built in makes for easy cleaning . It is a really AWESOME unit!!!! Ready to roll better not let it pass you by for the money (and is practicality brand new)GIVE US A CALL!!
- Valerie Walker , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-08 2016 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Nothing but problem after problem ! I was lucky to have purchase an extended warranty. Just in warranty repairs have spent over 2,500.00 dollars Have replaced microwave ,toilet,refrigerator, one air conditioner left front axle burned up. The entry door cracked all over. I would NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER FOREST RIVER PRODUCT ! P.S. this was a 98 thousand dollar mistake. My phone # is 406-561-8711
- Donald Winkler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-04 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FL6 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Only reason we are selling is because of my health problems. The unit has traveled only 380 miles since we purchased it new 3 yrs ago, What drew us to it, was the front living concept. It feels like having a small apartment especially with the large tv and fireplace. Couple that with the 6 slides, it really feels like a small home. The full body paint has been professionally waxed every year. All systems have been inspected every year and no problems were ever found. The gas oven and fresh water system have never been used. It’s the perfect setup for full time living, and having that “at home” feeling no matter how it’s used.
- Mike LaPorta, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-06 2018 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We chose this specific model on a recommendation from a dealer that didn't even handle Forest River products. We want to live full time in this rv and did for almost three years. As my wife's physical condition became worse we made the decision to sell and replant roots in a home. In this case it is a park model. This unit afforded us the ability be comfortable in high heat areas having a 15k hp(heat pump) and 13k a/c units. Also having a propane heater and a small electric heater in bedroom. It has heated black, grey and fresh water tanks for cold weather and double insulated windows. The insulation factors exceed all destination trailers on the market and are quite close to that of a regular house. To be sure I had good towing ability I purchased a Chevy 3500 HD dually. Sometimes while towing it was easy to forget the unit was behind me. The truck is available also and can be purchased as a package. If your looking for a full time living experience this is for you.
- David Ladin , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-22 2018 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased a new Cedar Creek Hathaway for the floor plan and finishes. After camping several times in our area, we made a trip to Alaska. The camper developed several problems to include window seals, split half bath wall, and slide issues. We were able to get the slide partially repaired, and finished our time in Alaska. I called cedar creek and was directed to an authorized shop in Coeur d'alene Idaho. I was told the camper would have to return the camper for slide rail upgrade. The half bath wall, as I was told, would need to be re-glued (wall joists did not line up) and the leaking window did not get addressed. I traded in the camper and will not buy another Forest River product.
- Terry Custer, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-19 2018 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CK2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our RV looks stunning with the full body paint which matches our Dodge Ram 3500. It became embarrassing at times with the amount of compliments we get. We can’t fault the RV it tows really well, sometimes we have to look to see if it’s still following. We put this down to the set up with the side winder and the Air ride. We have the extra cab Dodge Ram 3500 with self leveling it seems to be the perfect set up. As for the RV it has everything we could possibly ask for. It doesn’t have a generator as we hate the noise but it is fully set up with solar and 4 deep cycle batteries, propane/electric fridge is great for overnighting anywhere or for boon-docking for extended periods. If a generator was to be added it is fully prepped for it. We are from Australia and have been sharing the American dream, however with the travel bans unlikely to be lifted for quite some time we are selling the RV we may consider selling the truck if anyone would like the unit.
- Roger Cartwright , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-23 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CKTS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This 5th wheel is just like new and dually truck is like new too. With everything being automatic makes easy to set up. I just want to try out a motorhome for awhile and there's nothing wrong with either vehicles.
- William Powers , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-12 2019 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38CK2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought the 2019 Cedar Creek Hathaway new from Lazy Days in Tampa in October of 2018 and we are full-timers. The quality of construction, livability, amenities and towing are everything you could ask for. The disappointment in this experience has been the number of problems we have had with all the accessories and difficulty in reaching somebody in the warranty dept. at Forrest River. Fortunately for us we had purchased the USA Travel Care 5 year warranty and they have been right on. A list of problems: awning motor froze, dishwasher stopped working, door latch on clothes washer broke, the left refrigerator door's swing latch stopped latching, the fireplace heater burnt out, the microwave burnt out - these problems occurred within the first year. I understand there are usually problems with new units but isn't this a little much? There was a punch list of minor things after our walk thru but Lazy Days took care of those.
- Eric Putnam, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-28 2019 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 34RL2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent trailer. We researched several brands before deciding on Cedar Creek. LOVE the double vanity in the bathroom. Is the best pulling 5th wheel I've ever owned.The only complaint is lack of a pantry like the very similar cedar creek silverback. We put some shelves in the entry cabinet and it works great. LOTS of storage! Had one warranty issue and they were easy to deal with.
- Michael, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-07 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CK2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I would not recommend this RV to anyone because of the poor quality we have dealt with. We bought a Cedar Creek Hathaway in January 2018 and after only 1 1/2 years, we have had so much go wrong with it which has been very expensive and time consuming for our family. We have already had to deal with so much this year with our disabled daughter getting pneumonia twice and was in 3 different hospitals; she had to get a trach which was too big and cut off her oxygen, so we thought we had lost her 3 times in one day, etc, etc, etc. Now to have all this trouble with our new RV because there is only a 1 year warranty which ran out 9 months before the issues happened of course. First we had to drive from NM to KY and back with the biggest slide sticking out because while trying to close it the first morning, the rain cover got stuck between the slide and the RV and broke it. After we got home, my husband had to build a part to get the slide to work properly. It's a good thing he is a Mechanical Engineer! Why doesn't the manufacturer already have this figured out and make quality parts so we do not have to remake something to last and that actually works? On the same trip the fender came loose and shredded the tire below it then flew off just as it was getting dark. We asked the company if they would replace it because they didn't do a good job constructing it, but of course they wouldn't. Instead they told us where we could buy new parts. We had to pay a lot of money to buy another one and what an ordeal to get everything put back together!!! I can only imagine the expense if someone had to hire all of this work done. It took us 3 months to get it all finished after ordering the right parts and building new ones. On the first trip after fixing it, just 100 miles down the road, the new fender has come loose again even after my husband glued it this time. It is now broken again. :( We searched for several years trying to make sure we got a good quality RV as well as one we liked, to find out very quickly that the quality is very poor and it is a money pit with no help from the people who built it! It's only been more frustration to deal with. Uggghhh :( I would love to know if there is a more reputable and reliable company out there so we could have avoided all if this mess. We thought Forest River was just that from what we had heard from dealers, but we found out different. I would not buy a Forest River product again after this horrific experience.
- Cara Buchanan, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-06 2020 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 34IK View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our first RV. We were impressed last year at a local RV show by the space , and functionality of the fifth wheels we saw. I am tall, and feel confined easily. The Cedar Creek units were the best we saw at the show. We really liked the layout and quality. After 3 trips this year and over 2500 miles, a few screws have wiggled loose, and such. We have it in to be tightened up, and winterized. We keep it plugged in at our house usually. We miss it. My wife and I and our 2 labs love sleeping in it just cause. It’s really very nice inside. It takes a bit to cool it down when it’s 100 outside. There is nowhere to set a drink down near the couch except in the cup holder. No coffee mugs. No small counter etc. But that’s ok. We replaced the couch mattress day 2. A Zinus 5 inch works great! The bathroom double sink and shower with instant heat is flawless. I’m 6’3” and I have plenty of room in there. Overall happy with the unit. We will trade up soon to a bigger Cedar Creek. The dealer here is great. Takes awhile to get to service is all. Busy!
- robert donovan, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-26 2016 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our Cedar Creek Hathaway 5th wheel has a pleasure to own. Very minor problems and very good factory help. As much as we don't live in this unit I can see very easily how you could. I'd buy another Cedar Creek again for sure!
- Kim Salmon, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-19 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CKTS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love our Cedar Creek 36CKTS. Very livable for long term. Had a few problems but our dealer made the repairs very promptly. Took a long time looking at all the other fifth wheels and already owned SOB. The Cedar Creek is very well made and comes with highly rated tires, axles and leveling system. Would not hesitate to buy another Cedar Creek.
- Steve Hall, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-02-23 2018 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned all types of RVs over the last 40 years... maybe 12 total and this Cedar Creek is the best.. its construction is one of the strongest made... I have a friend that has a similar unit and was driving down the interstate highway and he had a heart attack...went off the road and rolled the unit over... when recovered and hauled to the wrecker yard, the slides would still open and close and the unit was bent up but still intact... it did not come apart. And as Paul Harvey said, now for the rest of the story... The owner's wife was taking a nap in the trailer's bedroom when the rollover took place and she walked out with a dislocated index finger! (of course. riding in a moving trailer is a no no.) Needless to say, he purchased another Cedar Creek!
- Richard Munday, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-01-05 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Design/Feature Flaws: -The SEA, three-piece, glass sliding door is a terrible design. It is awkward to use, impossible to clean and the track design incubates mold. I believe a shower curtain would be a great improvement. -The standard plastic, Dometic brand, toilet seats that come with the unit, are very flimsy and cheap. We had to replace them with solid wooden toilet seats, two days after moving into our camper. -The Dometic electric awning has not worked without manual assistance since we brought it home. It also does not properly cover the entrance, allowing rain to assault you as you enter/leave the camper. -The Dirt Devil central vacuum may sound like a great convenience, but I assure you it is not worth the hassle of using. The hose only reaches the extremities of the unit when constant force is being exerted upon it, and it scrapes and scratches everything you must fight and drag it past... I have resorted to using my residential vacuum, it is easier to haul it into the unit from the underpass every time I need to vacuum, rather than fight the hose. -All of the LED dome lighting has had to be replaced/serviced. Some of them were overheating, some didn't work, some flickered on and off, some flashed like a strobe light. -The Lazy Boy, theater seating recliner, had a bent frame. The more we used it the worse it got. Since the dealer decided they wanted to try and repair it, instead of replace it, we just got rid of it and replaced it ourselves. -The Whirlpool, convection microwave, works when it feels like it. Sometimes the light comes on when the door opens, sometimes it doesn't. If you see the light, it might heat your food. -The Splendide clothes dryer, stopped heating, four months into use. -In freezing temperatures, the unit is impossible the keep warm. The electric space heater in the living room can barely keep the chill out and the central heating unit does nothing to keep the frigid air from pouring in around the slides and cabinets. -In extremely hot temperatures, the not-so-quiet, whispering air conditioners cannot keep up. The poor insulation of this unit ensures that any attempt to keep it cool during 90+ degree temperatures, is a farce. I have attempted to focus on the flaws I feel are inherent to the design and features each of these units possesses, and left out many issues we have had with our unit in particular. Since every unit has it's issues, or so I am told by the people who sold us this nightmare. Overall, this unit is: manufactured with cheap materials by people with no work ethic, it is sold by liars, and the warranty work you will need is orchestrated and executed by morons, who do not seem to comprehend that they are in 'customer service' for a living!
- Martha Johnson, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-22 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
From a male point of view: This is very manageable while towing as it is equipped with an air ride on the hitch and makes for a smooth ride. Parking and set up is a breeze due to the automatic hydraulic leveling system, just a push of a button and you're done! The dual reclining theatre seats with cup holders are perfect for viewing the game on the big flat screen television. Storage is abundant underneath. From a female point of view: this is the perfect home away from home. Very spacious and liveable. Has double stainless steel sinks in the huge island, with under cabinet led lights, adjacent the stove with above mount microwave. A pantry lined with drawer shelving that completely pull out allowing you to see and store what you need. A full size, double door, stainless refrigerator will hold all the food you need. A large family could enjoy a meal surrounding the table and bar with no problem of crowding. Equipped with a central vacuum makes it a breeze to clean up, just sweep kitchen and open vent or attach long hose and vacuum carpet. Families will absolutely LOVE the one and 1/2 bathrooms! The half bath is downstairs and the HUGE master bathroom is so spacious! The shower has a built in seat with removable spray and glass doors. A linen closet as well as a large closet with built in shelving with lights and hook up for washer is in the bath. Beautiful mirrored doors close giving you the feeling of even more room. The master bedroom has a 6 drawer dresser with television above and top of the line queen mattress. This is truly a place you could live in.
- Steve Balthis, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-02 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent unit high quality top of line live-in unit, Just like home , with full size frig. King size bed and huge bath with large shower. Lots of closet space, and large storage space for all you gear.
- Dennis, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-01 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CK2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
To start this is our third Cedar Creek. Previous 2 were used and except for normal maintenance issues from hauling a lot, good RV's overall. We ordered a new one this time. When we received were told not to put much on each shelf in the pantry because screws were small and came out and the sofa tends to slide forward and get hung up on roll outs. Asked if the stacked washer dryer were attached and assured they were, they looked a bit askew. Got the unit home and here is what I found. I decided my best course of action was to fix issues myself. I looked at the pantry issue and the paneling to which the drawer slides are attached is only 1/8" thick. Two screws for each drawer slide and back ones seem to have a backer board glued on to accept screws, except it did not go down far enough to reach the bottom shelf. Front screws were just into panel and stripped out. Cabinet is not constant dimension front to back which makes drawer slides bind. Drawers are lucky to support themselves. I called manufacture to see what was behind the panel to see if I could safely drill in there to use drywall mollies. Never got a call. E mailed, same result. I ended up using plastic anchors which cover the screw and put in the normal three screws per slide. Seems to work. If not, will buy one of those video inspection camera with wand and look in there and decide if I can do something else. I shimmed slides to be right width as needed. On the sofa I made two wood blocks 1.5" thick with half round holes to fit legs and screwed them to floor to stop sofa from sliding. Washer dryer was not in fact attached to anything. Free to float around. I put wood screwed to the floor on four sides to keep it in place. Attached the dryer on the stack to the clothes pole. That should work. Dumb deal not to have them secured. In a sudden stop they were free to crash forward. There is no pan under washer in case of spill like my last unit had. I took my Onan generator out of old rv and installed in this one. Remote stop start button factory installed is at the very bottom of the compartment below the controls station. Have to get on your knees to use it. I have been checking out everything and came across an issue with the range hood exhaust. Exhaust unit is located above the microwave and installed first. Turned it on and all kinds of air was blowing down behind microwave and onto range. Got to looking and factory did not install any duct between the hood discharge point and the outside vent connection. Range hood hot air/moisture laden air/grease laden etc. was free to blow out between hood and wall and to some extent into the wall. I will tear this apart and fix it because I have no confidence the factory will do anything. I have to assume this is how they build all rv's so lots with same issue. I detailed the issues in correspondence with the factory, except for the hood issue which I just discovered, no responses. I am extremely disappointed. Makes me nervous about what else is poorly thought out and or lack of quality control. If I had my money back I would do more research into other high end brands. For what we paid I expected better.
- Bill Valentine, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-04-23 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CKTS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this RV but my age(86) and health requires me to sell it. Tows really well, friend following me said no swaying when passing large trucks. Has rear view camera so easy to back into camping spots.
- Carl, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: