Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River SALEM reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
2.6
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
2.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

240 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Michigan

Reviewed on 2016-07-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem 27RKSS

View listings

3.0
Well I'm not going to say I dislike it, I love the floor plan it has excellent space ergonomics are pretty good for the most part. However the standard of quality and craftsmanship ..... Well now that leaves something to be desired. I understand that this isn't a house but for what I paid for this unit I expected some quality. First of all let me start by telling you this is a brand new 2017 Salem 27RKSS we have used it 3 times. It does not tow well, this is not my towing ability I have been pulling trailers of all shapes and sizes for 30 years. By far this is the worst RV I have ever pulled. I have seen forums that other people are having the same issue and I have seen one other being pulled and he himself was having the same problem. Every time a car or truck would pass you it made the coach swerve all over the road. Mind you I don't tow mine over 60 miles per hour. The other issues I have are quality issues, my seam tape falling off the bathroom wall not to mention they never ever ran it all the way to the ceiling. My draperies falling off the wall from towing it down the highway, and they are hung crooked. I have sawdust and dirt smeared down in the caulking in my shower, the hook for the bedroom door has been knocked off twice because of poor location of mounting. I would move it except I want my warranty to cover it and don't misunderstand I'm not saying they won't or have denied any claims but as I said we have only used it 3 times. There was staples I had to pound in on the booth so it wouldn't rip the fabric on the cushions , our chairs had scratches in them the table top had a big scratch and the one they replaced it with is warped, the blinds won't stay up not to mention when you try to push them up they don't fold right so they're all wrinkled and creased now. I'm sure I have missed a few things but you get the picture. Would I recommend this camper to anyone? Not even a stranger.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (90)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Giummule

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-04-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem Hemisphere Lite 282RK

View listings

4.4
Our Salem hemisphere has been a great camper for me my wife and our grandkids when they visit. The kitchen area is huge for a camper of this size. More than adequate cabinet space in kitchen bathroom and even the bedroom. Bedroom has a large three drawer dresser and wardrobe closet hard to find in a travel trailer. Outside frig and sink a bonus when outdoors. Only issue was the recliners starting to peel (which has been a problem with all types of campers made from 2015-present) We put covers on the backs so not a big deal. Everything else has been perfect. Pulled great with my 1500 ram.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GW

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem 29FKBS

View listings

4.6
We spend a lot of time traveling with our Salem and it’s a very comfortable travel trailer. We find the floor plan well thought out with a large bedroom and built in desk. There’s lots of room in the living area and it can even accommodate a recliner or two. It has a full size couch that folds out to provide a comfortable bed for an adult or a couple of kids as well as a full size make down dinette. The kitchen is excellent and large compared to most we have seen or owned. There’s a lot of counter space and huge amounts of storage including a pantry. The appliances are spectacular in stainless steel with subway-look back splash design. The automatic refrigerator and water heater make boondocking very comfortable. Both run on electric or gas and switch automatically. The huge 21 foot awning makes lounging or grilling outdoors so much nicer and we often sit out in the evenings to enjoy nature. There’s even a cable outlet for game day if you are “tailgating”. All in all, it’s a large comfortable travel trailer with just about any amenity you can think of for camping or even extended stays for work or whatever your needs are. It’s definitely a home away from home.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Robinson

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-04-05

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 251SSXL

View listings

4.4
I read some saying the quality isn't that good, you need to realize these trailers are built to be lite. That said we love our toy hauler, we don't haul any toys in it other than bicycles, we got it for the room. Nothing worse than being cramped up in a trailer in bad weather. I've been down dirt roads with mine and take it real easy traveling and then I see people flying down these roads and there probably the one's complaining the doors come loose and so on. I take our trailer into the dealer every year and let them do a check on the whole thing, so if you take care of it, these trailers will last you. If you want great cabinetry and really good quality than you better plan on spending 60 grand or more.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Karen Jacquin

Missouri

Reviewed on 2022-03-06

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Salem Select 230BHXL

View listings

5.0
Small-ish camper with a big-camper feel!! Slide and murphy bed opens up the inside so there is plenty of room for rainy day games and family dinners. Bunks are long enough for adults. Easy to pull with F-150 truck.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Paul jacquin

Missouri

Reviewed on 2022-02-17

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem Select 230BHXL

View listings

4.8
This camper was super easy to tow. I pulled with an F150 and no issues. Putting the Murphy bed up and sliding the slide out opened up the interior for a big-camper feel. We did not mind being stuck inside during a 24 hour rain storm because of the open space. The cabinets provided plenty of space to stow supplies and the pantry cabinets made my sis-in-law jealous because of their size and accessability. Even on long trips we had room left over. Would highly recommend this camper for a retired couple or a family with children.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kristi Whisenant

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-02-14

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Salem Hemisphere 37FL

View listings

3.0
Bought new in 2020. Have had several issues. Drain under sink in kitchen wasn't connected, husband fixed that, grey water tank was not hooked up correctly, husband fixed that, dealer didn't install the two batteries that it was supposed to come with for the auto leveling, had tech come out 3x to finally figure out what was wrong then bring battery out, floor in bedroom is sinking ,the floor is bubbling up and now mushrooms are growing through the bedroom floor at the stairs.. worst camper we have owned this is our 4th camper. Done with this one.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Hankins

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-01-30

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 24RLXL

View listings

3.2
First off we loved floor plan and pop out living area. Then we started noticing thing that were missed by quality control. Also they trailer was manufactured just down the road from us. Kitchen cabinet door hits light can barely use it. Shower pan cut short leaving 1/4 inch gap which would have allowed water to run into subfloor. Screws in to shower pan were over tightened cracking pan. Bathroom window latch was mounted upside down. So window wouldn't stay open. Pantry door latch was misaligned and won't stay shut. Electric water heater was wire nutted into another circuit and kept tripping breaker. The electric hitch jack quit working as the connection had been over crimped and broke. All of these things I was able to repair myself as I didn't trust them to fix them.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PJ Antil

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-01-23

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 171RBXL

View listings

5.0
Our Nissan Frontier truck pulls this travel trailer easily. The interior design is great, especially the space of the bathroom! The only thing that would be nicer, is to have the cabinets and walls a lighter color. The Murphy bed is just terrific and allows you to put away the bedroom so that you have a livingroom for entertaining! It is a great trailer for a couple!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ashley

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-12-28

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Salem 29VBUD

View listings

3.0
We purchased a 2022 Salem 29vbud 3 days before Thanksgiving of 2021. We have owned the Trailer for 1 month prior to taking it on a 10 day shake down. We are currently on day 4 of our trip and we have come across a number of issues with the trailer, most of which are all a result of poor manufacturing. Our slide does not go in or out properly, one of our outdoor speakers was not hooked up correctly which caused it to blow, out fireplace does not work (this was caught prior to delivery by our dealer), our shower leaks at the seam, and our final straw was this morning we discovered our bed (in the bedroom) has broken. The armature that allows the bed to lift and gain access to the pass-through was secured directly to a knot in the 2x2 they attach the bed to. Of course this allowed a fault in the structure of the bed, and after the 5th use, it broke. We picked a forest river because of the superior quality the brand offered... but we believe that quality has fractured due to the high demand of trailers in 2021. We thought that forest river as a brand would put the quick money grab aside and focus on keeping their popularity as a quality brand intact, clearly we were mistaken.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 24
  • 1 - 10 of 85 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province