Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River CHEROKEE WOLF PUP reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
3.0

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Curt B

Michigan

Reviewed on 2019-09-06

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ

View listings

4.4
We bought this after years of being away from RVing, we had a big Jayco monster camper years ago with the kids which we sold a long time back. This is marketed as a "couples camper", and it fits the bill nicely. As with any camper, after using it you can go through and nit-pic little things you WISH they had done differently, but overall this is a wonderful camper and we look forward to many years of happy camping with it. It's easy to pull, easy to setup, and there are quality touches inside throughout. This is my first RV with a power awning, which I didn't think much of but after having it, I really appreciate. The A/C and heater both are more than sufficient for a camper this size, the USB ports throughout are wonderful, and the upgraded steps are really nice. My only real honest-to-goodness complaint is the lack of a simple winterizing kit for the water lines, but I guess they had to prioritize room wherever they could, this is a smaller RV after all. As with ALL RVs, you'll want to get a good topper for the horrid factory mattress, and why do all manufacturers put this weird atomic level light just above faces of people laying in bed? We're wrapping up a 7day camping trip to the Porcupine Mts, and couldn't be happier with our Wolf Pup 16FQ.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (167)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eldar Aharonovich

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-01-12

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG

View listings

1.8
I'll split my review into two parts: 1. The trailer - is junk! Poor quality, poor workmanship. 2. The company, Forrest River - even worse! My trailer is in the shop for over 4 months now waiting for parts. Their so-called "road assistance" doesn't work when you need them, told me it will take them 4 days to send a technician to fix the slide out. Stay away!!!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jocelyn Adviento

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ

View listings

3.6
I really like the Murphy bed/sofa combination layout because this is a small trailer with no slide out. The space is good for a couple or couple with a small child or pet. My husband and I brought our two kitties and they thought it was purrrrrfect. The awning with lighting, refrigerator and speakers made a great outdoor space to hang out and listen to music while enjoying your campsite. And the sofa/Murphy bed made the indoor space useful and versatile. We would lay on the bed and watch movies or play Uno at the dinette when it rained. Both the bathroom and kitchen size for this trailer is great and functional. This is our first trailer and is great for short trips but even with it’s short length I never felt comfortable pulling a trailer so we are going to upgrade to a small class C RV. Looking at the Jayco 22A as it’s short and has a great layout as well.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Dobrzynski

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-09-08

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG

View listings

2.8
This is our first RV and was so extremely excited for it, but what a huge disappointment it has been. This thing was built with incorrect electrical parts according to the dealership as which has caused us to miss quite a few trips with it stuck in the shop to be repaired. We bought new to avoid issues like this. Walls are coming undone the slide has already broken down and this is now back in the shop which will have been a total of 7 weeks this time waiting on forest river to send the parts. This has been our biggest regret of a purchase of any kind... EVER! we will never consider anything from forest river again. Their CS over there is pitiful as well. We bought the trailer in March of 2021, and it has been at the dealership for repairs 6 times. We have used it 6 times which means that every time we tried to use it, it would break on us. Do yourself a favor and seriously consider something else from another manufacturer.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

yanbo li

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-28

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16PF Black Label

View listings

3.0
I bought the 2020 Black Label Edition. Pro: Nice appearance, layout, lighting, owning, auto, colors, blinds Cons: 3900lb trailer is dangerous with one ax and cheapest Chinese tire. One tire has blown out during a normal drive. Immediately we replaced all tires with the best Michelin tires. Domestic AC unit is cheap and noisy. Mine is a lemon. The fan motor shaft vibrates and is noisy. The circuit breaker was triggered many times, so we replaced the AC with a smaller unit. Some 120v sockets and USB ports do not work. The outside shower head is cheap and broke the first time use.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-08-14

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16BHS

View listings

3.2
Maybe I am spoiled, as I recently retired and sold my Airstream which I had for 15 years. This travel trailer, which was a 2019 and only two years old, I recently rented for a weekend and was very disappointed. There are serious design issues: (1) the only food prep area is the glass over the stove, so that if cooking something, one can also not prep food at the same time (2) if one opens the cabinets over the stove, to use as utensil storage or pantry and want to check on something cooking, you will hit your head on the cabinet door (3) the shower faucets turn in opposite directions, so almost impossible to get a good temp setting (4) when opening the black water valve, you will cut your right arm on a jagged piece of metal on the trailer body (5) if you have a pickup, you cannot open the tailgate because the jack is in the way (6) the steps are a bad design as they catch on the lowest part of the door and keep the door from opening or closing correctly (7) it was advertised as sleeping 4, but really only sleeps two adults and two small children, no way can it sleep 4 adults. These things are deal breakers and make me think they have been making travel trailers only recently have no experience,and the designers have never camped in their lives. Reliability is also an issue: a two year old RV should not have broken door locks and a broken jack (we had to remove the jack from the travel trailer to tow it back to the rental place), fortunately we had tools or we would have been hosed. The only good things are: the A/C was good and it towed very nicely with no sway. This is a poor quality product, okay to rent if you have experience in fixing things and a tool kit with you, but do not buy this unit unless you are a mechanic.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Arnold Ring

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-06

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ

View listings

4.0
Wife and I Travelled 2500 miles up and down east coast twice and lived in our Wolf Pup a month each time. Strong points: The Murphy bed gave us great comfort when sleeping and more living space when made up. The bathroom with sink vanity mirror, toilet and shower across back end was great, Full sized battery operated solar charged refrigerator, 2 burner attractive stove, deep sink, dining area, ease of cleaning, lighting, large windows, awning, outside convenience lighting, phone charge outlets, tv adapted locations, rear rack, ease of towing, water , black/ grey storage tanks ample, We modified by removing panels and adding access to upper shelf over dining table and installed holding latch, replaced poor original tires after SEVERE blow out on US 95 near Richmond, upgraded tv antenna and modified rear carrier for generator box, A/C does great job but very loud, need more access doors instead of panels to shelves over Murphy Bed and draw for utensils underneath sink, improvement for difficult storage compartment locks. We felt very comfortable and confident towing into Smokey mountains with our F-150 2.70 engine. Rating for service at Gander Bartow Fl. And fort Pierce Fl. POOR. I still have an issue with a factory call back for shore line connection box which I intend to take up with Mr Lemonis President of Camping World.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DJohn

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-06-30

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG

View listings

5.0
We have only had it for a week and so far like most of it. One shocking thing we found out which we don't like and it is a problem shared by the other RV manufacturers; the security key design. I was short one key and needed a spare so I asked the dealer to make me one. To my surprise he walked over to the hanging generic keys for the brand which anyone can buy, and handed me a bag. He says they are all generic and most manufacturer keys are. I was shocked! Anyone can purchase bags of these keys and drive around RV parks and steal the stuff? Outrageous! Warning to all, change your locks! Other than that shocking problem, the trailer is fine, so far.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jarvis

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-27

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ

View listings

5.0
We've had everything from pop-up campers to a 40' diesel pusher. We finally sold it because it was just too big for folks getting just a little too old to handle a beast like that any longer. Still wanted to travel so we bought a Ford truck and after a lot of shopping, chose the Forest River Wolf Pup 16FQ. This is a great little trailer and just right for us, with a lot a features packed into a small package. We see a lot of folks making a laundry list of petty complaints but these frustrations most often come from people who are first-timers or haven't been in the RV travel game all that long. Literally all RVs, even our diesel pusher, had its share of quirks and issues. It's part of choosing to stay in an RV instead of hotel rooms. With an RV motorhome or towable,learning to become handy is an absolute must. Make sure that you learn about RV electrical and plumbing and inspect those features so if you experience trouble while on the road you can make the repair if necessary. There's typically not an RV center around every corner. Be certain to put together an RV first-aid kit for your rig as well, ie fuses, washers, fittings, heavy duty tarp with tie-downs and a tool set with what you need to make repairs. Don't expect to purchase a lightweight 16ft. towable and act as though it should have been crafted by artisans and ace technicians. It's just not reality, folks. The manufacturing plant is churning out these trailers as fast as possible and if you're lucky, you'll get one without any hiccups. Just don't become frustrated because you bought a $15K trailer and begin inspecting it for flaws. Hook it up, get on the road and forget about the small stuff. It's why you purchased it in the first place. We went over our trailer when we first purchased it and it's built like any of the others on the market so don't forget that you're using it to get away from it all and not bring misery with you on the trip. Did we see imperfections and lack of attention to details when we inspected it? Sure we did. If you're expecting perfection, stay clear of purchasing an RV. If you want to simply buy an alternative form of recreation, get to meet new folks on the RV circuit and kick back with more privacy and self-sufficiency than hotel rooms, then go get yourself an RV rig and have fun. If something breaks, learn to fix it or take it to a dealer while you're on the road or when you get back home. The Wolf Pup 16FQ is perfect for a couple, with or without a couple of small pets or kids. Plenty of bathroom space for such a small package but very functional. Kitchen is just right for the rig and the murphy bed/jackknife couch is ingenious when it comes to function and space utilization. The electric awning is a real treat for a low-end package and perks like the backup camera, outdoor refrigerator and entertainment features, the 4-jack stabilization and storage capacity all make this small RV trailer an excellent choice. Don't forget, however, that regardless of what you're using to tow this rig to invest in a proper weight distribution/anti-sway hitch system. It will be the best money you've ever spent and provide you with the towing safety you will be glad you installed. We'll give the rig a 5 in all categories. We haven't yet faced a warranty issue with this new rig but have done so many times with all of our others. It's just part of the RV world. You work with them to get the issue resolved and move forward. Best advice is to stop all the complaining, get yourself a rig if you want to have some fun and go hit the road. At our age, we're here to tell you that life is indeed short so don't waste it being so negative. Nothing is perfect. RVs are no exception by any means. Go get yourself one and loosen your hatband a notch or two.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (102)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eldar

Maryland

Reviewed on 2021-05-26

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG

View listings

2.2
Very poor quality and workmanship. We are new to camping with an RV, and we wanted to have the opportunity to enjoy some of the beautiful parks our country has to offer. So the Wolfpup was our choice to start with. The unit looks great and it has a nice floor plan which looked very convenient for my family and I. But soon after we purchased it, things started to fall off and break apart. At the beginning it was the door which is not adjusted correctly, then the kitchen handles started to fall off (the bolt that holds one of them is simply too short). The bed baseboard then detached from the frame, the bathroom vinyl cover is separating from the wall, and the most scary part - a piece of the awning fell off during driving. I've never imagined that this good looking unit is assembled with such a poor quality. The service lady is nice and responsive, but if I want to fix it I need to wait now 4 weeks for a local dealer to look into it. That means I need to drive now all the way back with those defects and who knows what will happen next. I'm afraid more parts will fall while I'm driving. Terrible. If you ask me - Don't buy.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review