Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Fleetwood Southwind reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.2
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
2.0

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

68 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

T Lee Horne III

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2014-12-15

RV reviewed1988 Fleetwood Southwind 24

View listings

3.6
I bought it used in 2004. It was in rough shape nothing serious just a host of little things needed attention. I didn't pay much for it. Through the years I have enjoyed playing with it. Because I bought it cheap, I was able to afford to "make it mine". I removed the stove and installed an all in one washer-dryer combo. I love being able to start the wash and have the clothes dry when I get back to camp. I rebuilt all the drawers so they were fully the depth of the hole. I lined the closet in ceder. I changed out the old overhead A/C to a much newer high efficiency A/C. Installed a Banks air intake and exhaust system. Added a constant voltage transformer. And innumerable little system upgrades to the engine fuel and ignition systems. I now have 247,000 miles on it. I still get 12 MPG highway at 55 mph.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Parsons

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-11

RV reviewed2003 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

View listings

4.6
I've owned this RV for 12 years. Love the floorplan and build quality. More than enough engine power to tow anywhere. It has all the amenities you could want when boondocking or glamping with full hook ups. I would definitely buy this model again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Teri

California

Reviewed on 2021-08-22

RV reviewed2003 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

View listings

4.8
Very happy with this coach. Driven many miles with it without any issues. Very comfortable and easy to drive. All appliances work as if new. Only minor issues such as bedroom sliding door came loose during drive. Easy $8 fix with new latch from Home Depot.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patricia Duncan

California

Reviewed on 2021-06-30

RV reviewed1994 Fleetwood Southwind 30E

View listings

1.0
I am frustrated. The phone number listed is out of service. How can someone buy from you without better information and a live person to talk to??? I like the RV. I need more pics and more vehicle information. Are you guys a legitimate seller industry? You need to contact me.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Watters

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-06-05

RV reviewed2000 Fleetwood Southwind 34N

View listings

4.6
It was great. Easy to post. Download pictures. Well put together website for both selling and searching. I like the way to put in the filters to search. Almost no like motorhomes in the 5th wheel section.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JJ Griffin

California

Reviewed on 2021-05-27

RV reviewed2018 Fleetwood Southwind 37H

View listings

5.0
POLAR COLOR LOOKS GREAT, GREAT LAYOUT, EXTENDED OUT FEELS LIKE A HOME, DRIVES VERY NICE AT HIGHER SPEEDS, HAS THE LITTLE THINGS THAT REALLY COUNT, PRICING SEEMS TO BE FAIR COMPARED TO OTHER MANUFACTURES. YOU WON'T BE DISSIPOINTED
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Caron

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-03-27

RV reviewed2020 Fleetwood Southwind 34C

View listings

4.2
Let me start off stating that the RV itself is exactly what we were looking for and the quality of the Southwind is great. This is our 4 motor home, we've owned a 5th wheel as well, so we aren't so naïve to think that they don't come with issues. I like to say that it isn't the bugs that make an RV as much as it is the way that customer service and support handles it. That's where this 1 star comes from and let me be clear that it isn't the factory that's the problem, dealing with the service department at General RV in Ocala is tied for the worst experience that I've had. From service advisors quitting and my unit not being transferred to another until I place several unanswered calls to the service manager. I needed to contact the finance manager, who is excellent, to get a response. The next, new, advisor guarantees me that she would stay on top of it but that didn't last. I kept being told that all of the issues were corrected and it would be ready soon. Then I'm told that Factory warranty was the problem so I called them. It seems that general was so slow in following up with them that they closed the ticket out! Then I talked to the factory warranty manager and he asked me if I had looked at General's fix on one of the slides? 2 of them had gouges underneath, I replied no I hadn't. He then suggested I look at the fix so I then made arrangements to look at the progress. Fast forward to my unit tour, my tech advisor took me to my unit at which time I started to loose it, it had been there for 5 weeks and hardly anything was done. I had been asking her to verify what had been done and most of what was supposed to have been done had not. The slide bottom that I went to look at was noting more than a patch job. Instead of removing the end corner edging they simply cut the panel at the edge and glued the new panel edge over the top. This is when I demanded to speak with the service manager an shop foreman. Now I know why the factory rep wanted me to look at this. This isn't the extent of my issues with the RV landing in this black hole of ongoing service issues. The finale to this relationship was the absolute worst customer service ever! I went in to pick up my unit and my service advisor insisted that we test all the issues because some were repeat concerns. She wanted me to start my generator to run the electric water heater long enough to heat up the hot water since I complained that it didn't get much over 105 /-. I replied that I wasn't going to use my generator to do that. Her and the service advisor then asked me to drive it to a power panel on the other end of the parking lot. I did as I was asked, after about 20 minutes I opened the hot water faucet to discover there wasn't any water in the tank. I'm glad it was just time wasted and not generator fuel. She then asked me to drive it to another spot that had water and electricity, which I did. She connected my water and power and came inside my coach. She then asked me why I chose that RV and I told her the reasons. I then commenced to tell her that I will never buy another RV from General ever again. I listed all of my complaints with her as well as the service manager. I never raised my voice, kept it direct without being angry, which wasn't easy because I sure had a right to be. She then excused herself and went inside the store. 5 minutes later an assistant service manager comes out and knocks on my door. He tells me that I need to move my rig because it is blocking access to this equipment. I explained to I was told specifically to park it there and if he wanted me to move that he'd need to disconnect me. While he was getting a tech to disconnect me I went inside to use the restroom and when I came out it was disconnected and parked facing the street. He said I was done and I needed to go. A few days later I emailed them and asked them to set my replacement floor times at the front desk so I could pick them up? They supposedly misplaced them and kept telling me that they would get them to me. I have yet to receive them. Let me repeat, everyone was great to work with until I needed the service department. Even the operations manager couldn't be bothered to respond to me directly.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-01-19

RV reviewed2001 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

View listings

4.0
I have owned my 32V Southwind since I bought in new in May 2001. Have 82,000 miles on it and raised my boys in it with my wife on travels all over the western US. Still going strong. Still looking and driving like new. Fantastic choice. Hope to get at least another 8 -10 years.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mina Trevis

California

Reviewed on 2021-01-10

RV reviewed2002 Fleetwood Southwind 35R

View listings

4.6
I love my RV, we bought it at an auction and have had nothing but good things to say. I have been very happy with the layout, dependability, features, and well made. We have thought of getting a newer model, but we feel so happy with what we have we are just revamping the inside with fresh carpet, paint, etc. It is sturdy and the very minimal issues with engine. Definitely don't make them like they used to, so we are sticking with out 2002 Southwind.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gculver8

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-08-21

RV reviewed2000 Fleetwood Southwind 36Z

View listings

4.8
we bought our retirement home in texas 2 1/2 years ago and rented it it out till we reached retirement age. we bought the fleetwood then as we lived in cali to be able to bring tools and supplies and be able to live on our property and not bother the renters. we just started upgrading every thing as it was our home 1 month a year.the suspension work made a world of difference.the led headlights was a game changer also. we disliked having to look up at the tv and to manually find the satelite, so i designed a tv cabinet and installed a king satelite dish. found a stereo company that cut in a double din stereo into the dash to give us gps and sirrius radio. a rear flat in the middle of the desert taught us the value of good tires. bought seven and threw on a tpms so i couls monitor them. basically turned a motorhome into a home.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 68 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review