Fleetwood Discovery LXE
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Fleetwood Discovery LXE RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Joseph Winkelmann from Missouri says:

Firstly the mechanics of Freightliner and Cummins. I have zero complaints about the drivability of mechanics. The power is always there including g

Read More (12 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40G View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Firstly the mechanics of Freightliner and Cummins. I have zero complaints about the drivability of mechanics. The power is always there including going through mountains of the East and the West. Admitting to nothing but if one wanted to run 80mph down the interstate, it drives so easily and is possible. I did notice mostly at high elevations, from a stop, it takes a moment to move the coach after depressing the go pedal but then a moment after that, it will put you in your seat from the torque. I’m sure it’s the turbo delay and completely normal and in all engines of this type. The engine braking is phenomenal and confidence inspiring going down long downhill grades. This is a large coach. Almost 42’ when measured. Tires have worn evenly thus far. Now for the Fleetwood side. Overall, very satisfied and highly recommend to any future buyer. I am quite confident, most manufacturers have a few build quality issues from the factory. This is no secret. I would have a very hard time justifying a brand new off the line coach. Sure you have a year of warranty but what good is that if you have to leave the coach sit for weeks or months or worse, drive it to another state to get worked on. Buying a one to three year old coach, that has had these factory oopses fixed already is my recommendation. On this particular model, the windshield gaskets are known to leak and mine was no exception. Fixed without damage but that’s something that should just never happen on a new vehicle. I am not a fan of the Truma tankless water heater. In theory, excellent choice and when they work, you never run out of hot water. Read some reviews on these and you’ll quickly see they are quirky and can be frustrating just to get them turned on. The last think you want in a high end coach with a beautiful shower is to get cold water on you and with the Truma, it’s 50/50 shot. Seems you have to hold your tongue in your cheek and pray to the RV gods everytime you walk in the shower. The drivers side mirror vibrates and bit and makes it hard to see, especially at night. Again, common issue that really doesn’t have a known fix. The side view and rear view cameras are something you can’t live without once you get used to them. I would like to see the monitor raised up closer to the eye level of the driver though. Now when you put the blinker on, the side view activates but you have to look so far down and to the right to see the screen, just seems a bit of a additional hazard for something that is supposed to make driving safer. It’s the the bunkhouse 40G and my favorite layout of all the Discoveries. Bunk house with each having their own DVD and TV with wireless headphones. The king size bed in the master can make a tight squeeze to get from the bunk room to the bedroom when the slide is out but only if you are a very large person would it be an absolute issue. Can always go through the bathroom if needed. Residential fridge and appliances are on the drivers side, allowing full window access to your picnic table side. Something we didn’t really think of until after we camped the first time. If you have kids or grandkids, this IS the RV for you. You can watch them play or eat breakfast in plain site while inside the RV. Full wall slide and partial slide on drivers have performed flawless to date. If you have the full wall slide out during a heavy rain, make sure there isn’t water pooling on top of the slide awning before retracting the slide. It WILL end up folding the canvas over and bring the pool of water inside your coach. Since you coach is level at the time, you won’t know it until you accelerate or hit the brakes. Once bitten, twice shy. Basically check the recoil tension on the retractor periodically to make sure it’s adjusted with enough strength to keep the water from pooling in the first place. It’s a long slide without a center support so pooling is inevitable. The ceramic tile floor is amazing and one of the first things you notice walking in. Definitely gives a WOW factor to new guests. Frankly, this coach, 2017 and new, just looks plain sexy and modern. The front fascia changed in 2017 and for the better in my opinion. Headlights could be brighter although I do believe they are projection lamps. Motor is almost unheard while driving allowing you to hear the wind as you push your way through the atmosphere. Relatively quiet but if you have a squeak, you’ll hear it until you fix it. The fridges tend to clog where the water drains into the pan. You’ll need to keep this unclogged else you will get some water on the floor. Tons of storage in the basement. Easy access to batteries and generator if needed. Lovely and beautiful coach, highly recommend, but let someone else get all the factory issues taken care of for you first and you’ll most likely have a solid coach for years to come. Enjoy and hope this helps someone about there.
- Joseph Winkelmann, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-24 2018 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Outstanding Coach. Very functional floor plan. Drives like a dream. Very powerful power plant. Avg 8.6 mpg. Fit and finish is amazing. Flat tows our Jeep Wrangler wit ease. Standard equipment is an upgrade on other RV makes.
- Richard Shettler, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-31 2019 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40G View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I really wanted to buy this RV and once I got it we didnt use it nearly as much as we thought we would so it sat around a lot. It also seemed like something was always breaking on it and to get it in for service is a nightmare as they are backed up for months. I would not likely ever buy another RV again. I'd for sure rent one in the future though.
- Joe Ogg, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-06-25 2021 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 44B View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Undoubtedly the WORST mechanical item I've ever purchased in my life. In 6 months of ownership: Incorrectly installed fuel filler pipes, incorrectly installed generator fuel lines, broken dishwasher (2x), failed refrigerator (1 month out of service), 2 recalls, incorrectly sealed roof that resulted in leak into back bunks and mold/mildew, where my children sleep, incorrectly seating living room slide, allowing for water intrusion, water/electric door would not stay shut while driving (torn calf muscle exiting coach to shut in traffic), screen door not sealing properly, washing machine that inadvertently works, bathroom shade broke on first use. When I both called and emailed to schedule a factory service to address all of the issues, I was never contacted back via either medium. I know I'm missing items, but this is off the top of my head. It has been in service approximately 40% of our ownership time, with a retail list of nearly $500K and a purchase price in the mid $300s, this is criminal. In what was supposed to be a once-in-a lifetime experience for my family and I as the pandemic set in, I had a chance to remove myself from the grind of managing multiple companies and spend quality time with my family, especially my special needs daughter, as they weren't in school. It's egregious that the entire industry gets away with the quality issues they do, but based on my experience, I would not buy a toaster put together by REV Group. It's nice to see their statements on driving shareholder value. Maybe consider reinvesting some of that shareholder value in building a product worthy of even half the cost you currently charge, make customer service and client satisfaction a priority and you might still be in business a decade from now. The industry has been gifted a golden opportunity to grow a whole new generation of RV'ers, and this is how they respond. My experience with my '19 Winnebago View was only slightly better than this. If I operated any of my businesses in this manner, or provided a product or service of this quality, I'd be bankrupt in no time. Buy a second/vacation home instead of spending the same money on a rolling lemon like I own. It would be comical if not so painful for my family.
- David Essary, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-06-24 2021 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 44B View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I just bought the LXE44B and am typing this from my first trip. While there are so many great features, I just have to report on four features that I hate. First and foremost (and this one is bewildering): when the slides are fully retracted and you are on the road . . . the air conditioning vents on the ceiling of the main salon are blocked! I kid you not. the slides retract and close up right over them. Not a single air conditioning vent is exposed. Our solution is to keep the bathroom door open while on the road and have at least that vent pumping cold air into the main salon. we cannot figure how this crazy design flaw went unnoticed. Second, the opening portal to fill the fuel tanks are not tilted. They are straight up and down (a sheer vertical face) . . . so you have to hold the pump nozzle the entire time you are filling up. You cannot just lock the nozzle in fueling mode and walk away as it will pop out. Third, there is no counter space on the side of the master bed. Just bed running to the window/wall. In my other motorhomes, there was at least 4 inches of side counter space next to the bed to place a phone, bottle of water, etc. Nothing here. Finally, there is zero level dash board area as it slopes away from the driver almost immediately. No room to place objects or mount things. Never had a motorhome that did not provide at least some convenience here. Anyway, just three irritating little design issues. The air-conditioning being the worse one. The unit drives like a dream. Handles beautifully. We really enjoy the floorplan. the digital screen interface with all the systems is wonderful. I feel this could have been an unmitigated homerun if not for those few design issues I just identified. seriously though, what the heck with the air-conditioning??? How can you design a coach without having cold air pumping into the main salon while on the road? We have to find solutions for something that should just work. Oh well.
- Russell Handy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-06-03 2018 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 38K View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Awesome Motor Home, great for towing a vehicle, diesel engine, low mileage very reliable and fun too! RV in excellent condition and all maintenance is up to date on the unit! Pics coming soon! Must see fully opened up to appreciate it.
- Michael Bernard Powell, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-10 2020 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40G View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I love this coach I have had Zero problems. Everything is super easy to use and the livability is great. Hookup and setup super convenient. Easy to drive and quite and comfortable. Turning radius is great. The electronics in this coach are on point. Love the appliances and the washer and dryer working without having to re-run more then once. The build is solid and lot better then most other coaches I have seen.
- Jason Holland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-02 2018 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 38K View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent coach , steady and stable drive ability. With slides open plenty of wide open space. Regret having to sell but Health problems made it necessary. Typical warranty issues in the beginning, all resolved. Including Blue Ox hitch and a portable Patriot brake.
- Bill Carr, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-04 2019 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40G View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased two brand new 2019 discovery diesel pushers, first one in late 2018 second one in mid 2019 since then we have traded to A Entegra coach anthem and never will go back to another rev group product. Rev customer service is nonexistent denied claims for major issues within two months of purchase, never got the first follow up phone call with questions as to why we were so unhappy. $500,000 plus in purchases. Shame on them as we were loyal customers for over 10 years to the Fleetwood products.
- Douglas sewell , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-16 2018 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 44H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Dealing with Fleeteood is ridiculous for warranty. They have told me to drive 2,000 miles to their factory service center. I have about 25 items on a new coach. Unfortunately they do everything they can to not service the coach. I had a Monoco before and they were so nice to work with. This coach is a lemon and I need to get the word out!! Don’t buy!!
- Steve Zeigler, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-25 2019 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 44B View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Craftsmanship is below standard. No room while traveling with slides in. Overspray and uneven paint on exterior. Basement not heated, no air dump available and only one docking light on each side. Well equipped with all other amenities. Drives great and cameras eliminate blind spots.
- Spencer, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-28 2017 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Lots of extras, washer/dryer, dishwasher, outside tv are standard as well as residential reefer. The engineering of several things needs some work, example-the moveable bed with inadequate bolts holding a heavy metal frame. They are set in plywood. The moveable tv has issues. The handling and smooth ride indicates quality but the hydraulic fluid storage tank is not designed properly and leaks. Overall a B, which isn’t bad for this motorhome
- James Snyder, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: