Dutchmen Kodiak Cub
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Dutchmen Kodiak Cub RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Jason from Colorado says:

Improper installation and defective part issues abound! After the first trip, things started breaking. Trim fell off, window valances unscrewed, cupb

Read More (12 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2018 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 176RD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Improper installation and defective part issues abound! After the first trip, things started breaking. Trim fell off, window valances unscrewed, cupboards wont stay shut and guest bed frame could not hold the table used for bed support and broke off. Factory had no answers or apologies. Second trip, more damage from driving...windows wouldn't latch, doors won't shut, bathroom fan had defective switch and drained battery as it would not turn off, dome/vent/fan over toilet was the wrong part installed, leaving gaps and ineffective insulation, walls panels began to unseam, light switches were missing factory parts ... the list of breaks, failures or improperly installed sections was 17 items long, 5 of which were factory installation of the wrong of defective parts. TWO MONTHS in the shop for repairs while I was making payments and not using it. Factory could care less. Avoid Dutchmen/Keystone/Kodiak products.
- Jason, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-29 2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 175BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this unit because of its size and layout. We have a driveway with a steep approach and anything bigger would probably not make it from the street to the drive without scraping. The layout suits us nicely but... A friend and I took it out first on a rock hounding trip and upon getting it to the campsite, we opened it up to find EVERY surface inside covered in a thick layer of dust. It took over an hour to clean everything off to the point that we could use it. Needless to say, it went back to the dealer immediately upon return home. It was there 2 weeks and they said it was fixed. The under belly penetrations, and the wheel wells hadn't been sealed. My wife and I took it out 2 weeks later and had the same problem. We stopped at several camps where we had to AGAIN spend time wiping down dust from every interior surface each time. On the way out, we drove from the campsite about 2 miles to the pavement and stopped. We opened the door and there was literally a cloud of dust swirling about inside. I finally found the problem while washing the unit prior to returning it again to the dealer. There was no seal on the front of the unit, under the cheesy plastic "diamond plate" and only one screw, which had fallen out, holding that down. It was again returned to the dealer and it looks like the problem is fixed this time. In addition, the hot water heater crapped out on both of the initial outings. This too looks like it has been fixed. Bottom line, Dutchmen's quality control is nonexistent and I would NOT purchase another of their products.
- Dan Frank, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-11 2019 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 176RD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This model is made for "off road" use. However, I'm not sure how that would work when driving highways through Wyoming and Montana have caused us to rethink our camping experience. We started finding random screws throughout the camper. Found out where they went went when the window treatments fell off. The heater has jostled so much that it has rubbed bare spots in the surrounding cabinet because it is not even the right size for the space it is in. We used a piece of rubber tubing to cover the metal edges but they have chewed through that. The stove top had 3 screws. All of which were barely caught on the wood that was supposed to be holding it in. The fridge will not stay cold, the door frame on it has broken and the insert will not stay in. The cover that fits over the sink (in an area that is expected to have water) got wet on the edge and has started to expand. The one little drawer in the kitchen has a pencil thin frame to hold it up. After this trip even with the drawer being strapped in, the metal slide broke from the drawer. (After our first use, we noticed the drawer in the kitchen would not stay closed because there was not a latch. Simple fix - installed strap to keep in closed.) Other screws have come from the speakers in the ceiling. We got home from our trip yesterday and have just finished unpacking. We found 6 more screws. Guess I will go and figure out where they have come from. Will be contacting dealership tomorrow.
- Dorothy Echols, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-06-24 2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 196BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought brand new 2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 196 BH in early June. Took on a 2 night trip that weekend. Everything ran fine that we used. Our first RV experience so we we took baby steps. Didn’t use the commode. Only the sinks and shower. Our front USB charger was inoperable, noticed the outside rubber trim began peeling from window. Also found a hole in seam between shower tub and shower wall. And significantly, cannot remove the spare tire. The lug nuts were bolted down into the lug wells so closely that you cannot even get a thin walled socket on them. All this was tolerable but then we had first significant rainfall. Went inside trailer and discovered water dripping from ceiling LED light onto front queen bed; soaking it. Threw a tarp over it and took it back to dealer next morning. They said would look into it but they are backed up. 3 days later I call and they haven’t even had chance to inspect it. Insane! There is also some trim falling away from door but I can fix. Wouldn’t even be upset about these few fixable things but the leaking roof, on a brand new unit? Unacceptable. Guess I’m gonna start that long painful raid of dealing with the factory and the dealership. Really lousy for first few weeks of very expensive hobby experiment.
- Alfred Ludwig, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-26 2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 177RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Warranty work takes a while, and thats even if they decide to warranty it, they will tell you it is damage because it was not noted at the dealer as defected. I wouldnt recommend Dutchman rvs as a 1st time new rv purchaser. It has been sitting at the repair shop for warranty work more than i have been able to use it, not a quality manufacture. But good luck!
- calvin, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-10 2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 177RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this unit because of size, layout and tank capacity. Have had it out several times Overall quality is better than average. Cabinetry quality is pretty good with the exception of the dinette. Had to spend considerable time reinforcing the box. Door frame around screen has a gap big enough for the murder wasp to fly through. Wish it came with dual axel option. Tried to get info on location of metal studs because I’m thinking about putting a small window in the rear. Manufacturer contact was useless and will have find a stud finder that is usable with foil backed panels. Overall great design for a small “couples trailer”, but I think they went a little cheap in some areas of manufacturing. Most problems I’ve found are fixable if your a competent handy man. Adding a second axel is not a cost or effort I’m willing to undertake. Did put a three burner stove in place of the terrible two burner recessed stove it came with.
- Ken, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-19 2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 185MB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
First camping trip pump got plugged. cleaned filter.2 trip all the shades fell off. Put new screws in. 3 trip lost power while camping to everything. Found wire for main plug not connected. Caused from stripped out bolt not holding wire. I had to fix all problems myself. Takes to long to take in repair shop. Camper was only 3 months old.
- Randy, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-03 2019 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 175BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is an excellent camper. All space is very well thought out. Pulls and travels great! Super floor plan has many nice features such as LED lighting, shower, toilet,stove,microwave, and would highly recommend! Great quality. Love the bear cage aluminum construction.
- calbell09, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-22 2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 198BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought a new 2020 Kodiak Cub last summer to upgrade from a Jayco 17.5 hybrid. Will never own a hybrid or popup again. The first weekend, we blew a thermistor on the water heater and I wasn't a happy camper. But our dealer rushed us in for service, fixed the problem and had us back out the door within 72 hours. Happy camper again. After four more trips in the Cub we finished out the summer with no further issues whatsoever. It is outfitted with quality components, comfortable features and excellent fit/finish. Tanks are larger than I expected, including two propane tanks. Heat warms well and A/C cools great as the seasons change. The underside is sealed and heated for colder weather if you need it. I would recommend one to anybody looking in this size range.
- Doug Mosley, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-14 2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 177RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The layout, length and water capacities were what encouraged me to buy. Only camped one night so far. The box seems tight. Wished that dual axles were an option. The kitchen and bath cabinets seem sound, but I needed to add some shelving. Dînette is pretty flimsy and required additional bracing. I’d like to add one of those pressure tanks, but the pump is almost inaccessible. Needs to have 12v outlet for the TV. No appliance manuals provided, so am downloading online. Overall workmanship good for a TT, but some glaring exceptions like the dinette/sleeper. We went into this purchase as experienced RVers and selected the 177RB for specific configuration reasons. It’s a little better quality than our last 2 TTs and our last one made it to Alaska and back fully intact. Good thing though that I’m pretty handy as it needs some modifications to make it more livable. ktt
- Ken, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-28 2019 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 175BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We loved the 175BH, at first. However after first trip out we had several poor workmanship issues that serviced. Peeling wall paper, window not latching, roof vent not opening all the way. Took that in and got all of the above repaired. Next trip...back for repair of bunk bed that was made with defective particle board that was cracking. It would not of held any weight if someone had slept on it. There were multiple screw holes under in the storage pass thru but no screws were in the drilled holes. Again it was fixed by the dealership. Each trip that we went on demonstrated another workmanship error. Bad wiring, refrigerator went out 3 times before it was finally replaced. Today on the way home from a camping trip the back wheel just broke off and flew across the freeway. Thank God no one was hit and we were able to steer the truck and trailer to safety with the one side dragging on the axel...very scary. Be aware of this poorly made craft. It is if it was the practice model for all the other models that followed. DO NOT BUY IT.
- Pat Perry, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-20 2018 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 176RD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
BS... Jason, we love our 2018 Kodiak Cub 176RD! Yep, the one for SALE now stored within the local Laughlintown Secured Lot. We are truly sorry that YOU HAVE, AND ARE EXPERIENCING such horrendous defects and insufficient customer service. Perhaps your “Dealership” is part of your problem. We bought our “‘18 Kodiak Cub RV”, off the Apollo PA dealership lot, BRAN’-SPANKING NEW., and have not a complaint. The one adjustment needed was to a window latch, that was immediately attended to. Our Apollo PA dealership is family owned. Their attention to detail was and is beyond reproach. I couldn’t imagine a sale being released without, seemingly, any quality checking such as you seem to have experienced. Smaller, family owned, as opposed to ‘eh - perhaps some huge “volume” shops willing to push units off their lot and forget them. Jason, did you buy a new 2018 Kodiak RV, or was it used? What was/is the model, and year manufactured, of the Kodiak you purchased and used as the basis for your review? Colorado... was your unit ever used “OFF ROAD”? Our 2018 KODIAK CUB in question was and is the basis for our review. Again, we have experienced nothing like you have, and would willingly introduce the buyer of our ‘18 Kodiak Cub to our Dealership. Would you allow my buyer, if requesting, to speak to your dealership? Oh, and we are selling our RV because my husband suffers from the Rapid-Onset of a bone-fracture disease prohibiting his ability to safely handle setups and takedowns for fear of falling and refractuting. We wish you well, and likewise wish we could but keep enjoying the KODIAK RV experience we had for each of our three trips. B (& P) S.
- Bonnie, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: