Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Dutchmen Coleman Light reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.6
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
2.7

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tim

Florida

Reviewed on 2018-08-12

RV reviewed2009 Dutchmen Coleman Light 1805RB

View listings

2.6
Would never buy another coleman 3 years after owning found leaks in the walls and the wood was rotted the floors are rotted Very poor design on the roof has 2 strips of aluminum that goes cross front and back Which allows water to accumulate on all 4 corners
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (39)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis R Gingras

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-04-28

RV reviewed2018 Dutchmen Coleman Light 1625RB

View listings

2.0
The final (Maybe) end of the nightmare Coleman/Camping World saga. Now that the 1625 RB is out of warranty, we hope to end the experience forever. Because of the pandemic, the demand for RV's is far greater than the supply. That means people are willing to buy anything they can find. We finally traded the Coleman nightmare in at a huge loss. It lasted 2 days on the new dealer's lot before someone bought it. I then contacted Camping World for my GAP insurance refund. 2 months later and multiple calls to the dealer, and still no check. Once again, CW is non existent for customer service. No one will take responsibility for the job of processing the refund. Same as Dutchman was for repairs. I hope the new owners are handy with tools, sealer, glue and staples. Farewell Coleman.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-03-21

RV reviewed2021 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2455BH

View listings

3.4
Former Holiday Rambler owner...I purchased a new Coleman travel trailer. Got it home and started with closer inspection. For the price point, you get allot of trailer BUT look's like Quality Control of the manufacturing process is non-existent. I am a mechanic and have extensive knowledge on RV maintenance... If you are not willing to fix your brand new RV when you get it home, don't spend your hard earned money on a Coleman. Items that needed repair: Screen door latch, Screen on door, bottom skirt on outside of trailer, unfinished interior wood, Refrigerator gas line hanging, not in it's holder, many fasteners missed their mark.. self tapping screws sticking out everywhere, hardware holding outdoor kitchen cook top fell out, wardrobe compartment in bedroom won't open all the way due to design error, front leveling jacks wouldn't extend.. right foot on jack didn't stow properly when retracted, wood under sink protecting plumbing VERY SHARP OUCH! Trim never installed, Kitchen bottom drawer hits heater intake frame, and the list goes on. Bottom line, the trailer i now owe money on is, (in my eyes) an unfinished product. You can certainly tell that the people putting these together are either being rushed or just don't care about quality and pride in a finished product. If you are not handy with tools and basic knowledge of RV's DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Gingras

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-03-04

RV reviewed2018 Dutchmen Coleman Light 1625RB

View listings

2.8
I have already covered the awful experience with Buying an RV from Camping World in a previous review. This is about the RV and the company behind it. First let me warn you that if you buy a brand that is made just for Camping World by a manufacturer, you had better plan on long term ownership. None of the dealers where I went to to trade it in wanted to touch a CW exclusive product. These RV's are made with scaled down interior and build quality to meet a price/profit margin for the dealer. Second, when things started to go wrong on the first camping trip, the manufacturer (Dutchman) was non existent for customer service. Everything is held together with tiny staples and tape. Walls bowing, moldings falling off, seam tape peeling off, outside decals peeling, caulking pulling loose, etc. Third, the design of things is not thought out. Dump valve is under the slide so you have to crawl on the ground to get at it when the slide is open if you are in a sewer hook up site. The tongue is too short, not leaving enough room to mount your equalizer hitch brackets. Manual tongue jack was not strong enough and bent. Dealer said side wind jacks aren't rated for lifting the RV and the back of the tow vehicle (when removing weight distribution bars) so they replaced it with a top wind jack. Trouble is, the propane tanks are too close to the jack so when you need to use it, you have to remove the tank cover so there is room to turn the jack handle. Might as well leave the cover off, because it won't go on all the way with the hitch brackets in the way. Finally, Dutchman/Keystone doesn't care who sells there product. There are so many product problems with this brand that a dealer who cares would not want to sell them for fear of getting a bad reputation. Take your time and spend an hour by yourselves without a dealership employee to check every single thing in and out on the unit BEFORE you sign the contract. Make a list of every loose, broken or not working item and tell them you won't sign until they are properly fixed. If they say they will take care of them on your first service visit, walk away. Mine spent over 8 months in the shop in the first 2 seasons waiting for Dutchman to authorize repairs and then send parts.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wesley

Alabama

Reviewed on 2020-11-01

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2715RL

View listings

3.6
The flip out couch hits the the window cover. Tv door hits ac. Farm sliding door hits tolet lid. LED light strip 4 lights on it have gone out after 6 months tv door hits LED light on roof had shave down to stop it. Led running lights on front starting to come off. One side works only half the time. Everything else with the camper has been extremely good. This is second camper I've ever had the chance of living in. And just feels cheap made now days like everything else. Feels like build in China yano.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William H

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-09-18

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2715RL

View listings

4.6
My wife and I love everything about this RV, except that our truck is a bit too small to comfortably tow it across country. So we were faced with a choice of either buying a bigger truck (too expensive) or selling this brand new RV and purchasing a smaller one: about 2,000 or more less in weight and seven or more less feet in length. The RV feels solid, is great to travel with, and has everything one needs to be comfortable.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TJ Cutchins

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-08-27

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2515RL

View listings

3.6
We bought this camper based on the floor plan and the Coleman brand. Wished I would have paid more attention to details. First there are no electric outlets near the “kitchen” area. I have to plug the coffee pot up near the sofa away from kitchen. Also on the drivers side of the sofa no outlet or phone charger. Coleman should have put more electric outlets in strategic places in the camper. The camper indicates there are 2 gray water tanks on the panel. Plus during walk thru the guy told us there were two tanks. There’s not. One tank that filled up on our third camping trip. We’ve since bought a “poop wagon” to drain grey water for longer camping. First camping our electric hitch jack went out and had to be replaced under warranty. When I picked up my camper after being in the shop for two months we inspected the the work and found a loose wire. We asked the technician about it and he just shrugged who the heck knows where it goes. On second camping trip the drawer under the stove came apart. Cheap shoddy construction. No satellite inlet. Cable inlet did not work with Dish satellite, so I installed my own. Good thing I did. We camped last weekend at a park that had cable tv hook up. I could not get the cable tv to work. I switched and connected through the satellite inlet - cable worked! There are some pluses. Nice kitchen, stove and three burner stove. Full size fridge, nice bathroom - but cheaply done. Bedroom functional, nice electric stability jacks. Really nice awning. If I had it to do over, I’d probably buy a different brand.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Holdridge

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-08-25

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2715RL

View listings

4.6
Well, we've loved it! It's our third RV, and this one by far is the most comfortable and livable. We were thinking we'd be using this cross-country, but decided we wanted something a bit smaller for that purpose. We also we were thinking we'd be using it for long-term work related trips, a month or more. But the work situation has changed, and that won't be necessary. But it would've worked great for that. Easy to set up, easy to tow, had we decided to keep it (we've only owned it two months ... bought it brand-new from Camping World), we'd have installed a second AC unit. It's a fine unit, well worth the price!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patsy Carraway

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-08-16

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2515RL

View listings

2.4
Purchased our camper in February 2020 and within 3 weeks had it at dealership for 9 repairs. Most items were not taken care of so we took care of a few ourselves. Have taken to dealer 7 times and still having issues. Main issue is when changing TV channel it will turn fireplace on and off, if adjusting the volume, it will change temp on fireplace up and down. It is now August and still not fixed and have been told there is no fix. They have replaced the TV one and now want to replace the TV again. They tell me the tv is in and then it isn't or it came in and broken, will be here on Monday, that was a week ago. Always an excuse. The exterior door would come open while traveling even though we had the deadbolt locked. Took to dealer 5 times, first they replaced the door and after numerous trips they finally changed the lock and deadbolt, we picked the camper up and were getting ready to leave and decided to check everything. They had changed the locks and didn't bother to tell us this or give us the new keys (we live an hour from dealer). Went back in and it took them about 40 minutes to figure out the problem. A technician even came out and tried to unlock the door! We have contacted the dealership CEO and Dutchmen manufacturer of Coleman. No one wants to take responsibility for anything. We just want them to make it good by at least letting us get another camper and not take a huge loss on the one we would be trading in. Not an option. Never buy a Coleman, they do not stand behind their products. Only interested in selling, not servicing the products that they sell and do not honor the warranty. We were told by the CEO that states that "if you are not happy, I'm not happy", well guess he is good and mad. He is the one that told us there was no fix to the tv/fireplace issue and said that the problem was closed as far as he is concerned. There are still a few issues that haven't been resolved and it has been 7 1/2 months. Ridiculous. Please, please do not buy a Coleman or a camper from Camping World.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donna Schirmer

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-07-12

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Coleman Light 2435RK

View listings

5.0
I looked at many units and this one was THE one for me. But I lost my job and sadly I must sell it in order to move on. Never used, brand new, just towed it from Camping World to Junction, TX. I love the rear kitchen, dual entry/exit doors, queen bed and pass through storage. The microwave above the stove with a 7 cu ft refrigerator is very convenient! Has 1 slide for dinette and creates a nice front room area with lots of seating.I love that everything is power. The 18' awning with LED patio lights and power stabilizers.Water heater & refrig are gas/electric DSI. Double axle creates safety and smoothness as you tow.Sleeps 6 just in case you carry friends or family. This unit is beautiful, ready to go, has a heavy duty hitch, sway bars and power jack. Love the power jack and ready to add solar panels! Sad to see it go...
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review