Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Dutchmen Aerolite Travel Trailer reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.4
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Travel Trailers

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dennis

Illinois

Reviewed on 2015-05-04

RV reviewed2007 Dutchmen Aerolite 248RBSL

View listings

3.8
Easy to tow with small pickup or SUV. No Sway, The Slide out makes it Great for the the get away weekend or the long stay. We as 2 seniors did 7 weeks in Florida with never feeling cramped for space. Plenty of storage.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (38)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Aida Heiman

California

Reviewed on 2022-05-07

RV reviewed2017 Dutchmen Aerolite 294RKSS

View listings

5.0
We spent a lot of time researching RV's prior to purchasing our trailer. There is so much to consider you really need to understand how you plan to use your RV prior to purchasing one. I highly recommend renting so you have some experience to guide you through this process. First you must decide what kind of RV you want. Do you want a driver or a puller? Do you want a 5th wheel or just a trailer? I have a Chevy Silverado 2500HD that makes a great tow vehicle. My wife really disliked how loud it was inside an RV that you drive. Everything rattles and shakes and it can be annoying. We chose to go with the trailer for two reasons. First the truck is nice and quiet to ride in and is exteemly comfortable. I also race motorcycles so I had room in the bed of the truck to haul my bikes. Another reason we did not consider a 5th wheel. Our second considertion was size. How big of an RV do you need? How many people do you need to sleep? I saw a really nice Duthman model that was the perfect floor plan but it was a 33' long. I am very glad I did not purchase it although it appeared to be just what we wanted. We chose to go with a different model that was not quite as long. We went with a 29' and I am very glad we did not go with the longer RV. In the country it may be fine but maneuvering around town and in the city can be difficult with a large RV. If I wanted to go longer I would consider a 5th Wheel. The next priority was the kitchen. My wife said if I wanted to eat well she needed a real kitchen to cook in. We chose a model with a full stainless kitchen and L shaped countertop. My wife loves having a full size kitchen in which to prepare meals. If eating good on your trips is important then conside the size and placement of the kitchen. Ok, I know you had not put much thought in to it but the bathroom is very important. I wanted a full size camode and a real shower with glass doors. After a long day of racing having a hot shower is really nice. I had an RV with a very small shower and I hated it. If you have kids then you need to take that into consideration. My kids are grown and we just have two dogs so as long as the RV will acomidate the number of people in your family you are good. Speaking of kids, having a master suite with a locking door is mandatory if you and your spouse would like privacy in the evening. Our trailer had a king size mattress which I upgraded to a full size mattress for comfort. The final thing I will mention is the leveling system. I hate messing with manual jacks. It takes time and often you need platforms to get the trailer leveled. We chose an RV with a self leveling system. You simply push a button and wait a couple minutes and the trailer levels itself. I personally appreciate this after a long drive and I have to unhitch. There are many more things to consider but I hope this helped.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ted Heiman

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-04-28

RV reviewed2017 Dutchmen Aerolite 294RKSS

View listings

5.0
We spent a lot of time researching RV's prior to purchasing our trailer. There is so much to consider you really need to understand how you plan to use your RV prior to purchasing one. I highly recommend renting so you have some experience to guide you through this process. First you must decide what kind of RV you want. Do you want a driver or a puller? Do you want a 5th wheel or just a trailer? I have a Chevy Silverado 2500HD that makes a great tow vehicle. My wife really disliked how loud it was inside an RV that you drive. Everything rattles and shakes and it can be annoying. We chose to go with the trailer for two reasons. First the truck is nice and quiet to ride in and is exteemly comfortable. I also race motorcycles so I had room in the bed of the truck to haul my bikes. Another reason we did not consider a 5th wheel. Our second considertion was size. How big of an RV do you need? How many people do you need to sleep? I saw a really nice Duthman model that was the perfect floor plan but it was a 33' long. I am very glad I did not purchase it although it appeared to be just what we wanted. We chose to go with a different model that was not quite as long. We went with a 29' and I am very glad we did not go with the longer RV. In the country it may be fine but maneuvering around town and in the city can be difficult with a large RV. If I wanted to go longer I would consider a 5th Wheel. The next priority was the kitchen. My wife said if I wanted to eat well she needed a real kitchen to cook in. We chose a model with a full stainless kitchen and L shaped countertop. My wife loves having a full size kitchen in which to prepare meals. If eating good on your trips is important then conside the size and placement of the kitchen. Ok, I know you had not put much thought in to it but the bathroom is very important. I wanted a full size camode and a real shower with glass doors. After a long day of racing having a hot shower is really nice. I had an RV with a very small shower and I hated it. If you have kids then you need to take that into consideration. My kids are grown and we just have two dogs so as long as the RV will acomidate the number of people in your family you are good. Speaking of kids, having a master suite with a locking door is mandatory if you and your spouse would like privacy in the evening. Our trailer had a king size mattress which I upgraded to a full size mattress for comfort. The final thing I will mention is the leveling system. I hate messing with manual jacks. It takes time and often you need platforms to get the trailer leveled. We chose an RV with a self leveling system. You simply push a button and wait a couple minutes and the trailer levels itself. I personally appreciate this after a long drive and I have to unhitch. There are many more things to consider but I hope this helped.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Cheryl

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-06-04

RV reviewed2019 Dutchmen Aerolite 2733RB

View listings

3.2
We bought our Aerolite brand new 6/2020. 2 days after we went on our first trip. Upon arrival we we noticed metal shavings on the floor near the slide out. 8/2020 flat tire. 9/20 - front LED lights not working. 10/2020 the InCommand system went out completely it had to be completely replaced, Display Commander
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill King

Georgia

Reviewed on 2020-06-18

RV reviewed2017 Dutchmen Aerolite 272RBSS

View listings

5.0
Great couples unit. Will sleep more than a couple but works great with two people. Opposing slides provides an island kitchen. Also big outdoor kitchen with sink, fridge and two burner stove. But the best thing is the huge bathroom, the biggest I ever seen in a travel trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matthew P. Van Note

Ohio

Reviewed on 2020-06-17

RV reviewed2013 Dutchmen Aerolite 174ES

View listings

4.2
Great small camper! We love it! Our 25 year old son and a friend lived in it for 4 summers and you would never know. It shows little wear and tear. Beds could be more comfortable other than that it is a wonderful camper. Easy to tow. Simple to maintain. We love it!!!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kathy Allbright

Texas

Reviewed on 2019-10-14

RV reviewed2018 Dutchmen Aerolite 2843BH

View listings

2.8
2018: This RV was like an expensive watercraft. And by that, I mean it leaked from every orifice. Every window, every door(3 of them including the back behind the bunks), the windows in the doors, every hatch, the sunlights in the roof and even through the refridgerator vent. Some of the seals were installed upside down and some of them had finger impressions in the sealant that acted like four little funnels, two hands worth, to let the water inside. No joke, every opening in the skin leaked. The fridge leak was so bad that the wood swelled up and rotted completely and every trim strip swelled up from water. They are only sawdust covered in pretty tape after all. The strip lighting in the front end, outside and inside the storage bay fell off within a month. Now we bought this RV brand new and only had it for 1 year. It spent the majority of that time in the shop trying to locate and repair the leaks and the damage.I carried many, many extra towels to soak up water because we had obligations to travel for most of the spring. We would go out for a weekend, drop it off at the shop on our way back, pick it up 2 or 3 weeks later, rinse, repeat. The dealer tried their best to fix it, but we ended up paying a relatively small amount of money for the manufacturer to take the 2018 back as a complete failure and get us into a 2019 replacement. 2019 replacement, also 2843BH: Now with this one, only two windows and the door windows leaked. Fairly easy fix, including one window completely replaced due to a broken internal seal. We've had this one since February 2019. It has been in the shop three times, including right now. They have come to our house 3 times, including to replace and fix window leaks. The first roadtrip findings: the fridge circuit board wired backwards, burned up before purchadse but unknown yet. The water heater blow out valve has been replaced 3 times, still leaks.The sunroof in kitchen was installed so poorly it was warped sideways, replaced. The drain in the shower had no support, snapped in 2 at the seam the first time in the shower. Leaked enough to come out of the bottom of the trailer. Luckily my husband was outside and noticed. Not a weight issue. Replaced and supported. Auto level system has never worked. Shop opens underpinning, finds that it has only one screw in each sensor and the sensor moves everytime you pull the trailer. More hardware, still doesn't work. Shop tries reset several times. Raises the trailer high enough to pop the shackles on the right axles. In the shop right now trying to fix. Most recent trip, slideout stops after 12" of travel. Error message says battery low.Shore power connected and battery at 13 volts. Almost every trip the panel will not start up. Thinks the trailer is still moving. Have to disconnect battery to reset control panel. The drawer under the aft dining table seat was assembled so poorly it had come apart at the seams. The brace that it slides on was screwed in without holding it down so the screws just pushed up away from the floor. Luckily my husband is a cabinet guy. The closet door is so warped that the MFG tried to hide it by re-drilling the hinge screws out of line. Door fell off frame first trip. The shop re-hangs the door in attempt to help it work. Needs new door and then probably new door facing/hinge side. The license plate holder was installed right next to the shore power plug. And I mean nearly on top of it. The plate could not be installed. They had to install a second plate holder on the opposite side. Now we have an extra plate holder:) I'm not listing the minor issues and cosmetic issues that either we or the shop were able to repair or fix. And there were several, especially on the 2018. The dealer really excelled on getting the second one ready...except that annoying fridge that only worked on propane because the circuit board was fried and we didn't figure it out until the propane tank was empty:( Our dealer is really trying to fix the issues on this trailer, but they are so very numerous and most are not minor in nature. This trailer is just completely unacceptable in quality. I almost want to find out if it was built on a Monday, if you get me. The cosmetic flaws would be correctable but these have major systems failing straight off of the assembly line. Completely unacceptable for this price point. Highly do not recommend. Very dissatisfied.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (23)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Merrill

Utah

Reviewed on 2019-09-03

RV reviewed2019 Dutchmen Aerolite 2843BH

View listings

2.6
2019 Aerolite: The awning came loose. Threre was only 1 upper bolt holding the awning on place. I saw an electrical harness inside the vertical aluminum stud. Called customer service requesting a schematic of the RV. There were existing pre-drilled holes that I could use to help secure the awning. Requested a schematic to prove that I could drill more holes so as to secure the awning without drilling through the electrical harness. She told me there was no schematic. I said everything has a floor plan or schematic. She hung up on me. Other problems: The LPG harness developed a bad leak. I had to replace the entire harness. Battery straps (minor problem) have to be replaced.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Philip

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2019-08-21

RV reviewed2017 Dutchmen Aerolite 2320BHSL

View listings

3.6
Overall great camper for us. We've had a few issues but Dutchmen has taken care of them each time. Only major problem we had was a bearing failure (less than 300 miles on the trailer). Even when Lippert denied the claim Dutchmen stepped up and replaced the axle under warranty even though it wasn't their component (fault). I have since replaced all bearings and seals with Timken bearings and use a high-quality grease instead of that crap from the Lippert factory. It tows easily and straight, no sway, looks good, and after a year of some good use, seems to be holding up well. Everything seems solid and well built. Don't see any reason it won't last many more years. We do keep it out of the weather when not in use. I wish they would use Dexter axles and self adjusting brakes. Also I wish there was an A.C. vent in the top bunk. It can get a little warm up there. But overall I am satisfied with the camper. As with any moving mechanical thing it does require constant maintenance/work/money. If you're not prepared to keep on top of the maintenance or pay someone to do it don't get a camper.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Burson

Alabama

Reviewed on 2019-03-18

RV reviewed2017 Dutchmen Aerolite 294RKSS

View listings

4.4
Likes - Floorplan - the best for lake lot views. Lots of windows. Great kitchen layout. Good quality furniture. Replaced "paper" shades with mini blinds (personal preference). Good storage underneath. Pulls well. Dislikes - none.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province