Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Freelander reviews

4.3
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.1
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.4

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

62 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Cathleen Savage

Colorado

Reviewed on 2015-02-06

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

View listings

3.4
The 2012 Freelander 21QB, actually 24' in length, is a great value for the money. It is a great option for two adults and up to two children. Although it technically sleeps six, that would be a bit crowded. In addition to the rear Queen bed, the dinette converts to a Full size bed (48" x 76"). The overcab bunk has a weight limit of 350 lbs. PROs: 1) The rear bed is 60" x 80", very spacious for an RV and so much more liveable than the "Short Queen" (60" x 76") that is so common in other models. An added bonus is that standard Queen-size sheets fit perfectly! 2) the fresh water holding tank is 50 gallons, lots bigger than most Class Cs and even some Class As. This means we stay out in remote areas longer without breaking camp. 3) The exterior "basement" storage is huge! Over 100 square feet! We can fit everything we need for a month-long trip in with no problem. Have not seen this much storage in other models. 4) It is very easy to drive and has a good turning radius. 5) The dinette is designed in a circular "lounge" style, which is great for watching TV and relaxing. See related Cons below. CONs: 1) The factory installed vents are cheap and flimsy. We immediately replaced ours with Fantastic Vents. 2) The window in the coach side entrance door (not the cab) is made of frosted glass, reducing driver visibility. We had ours replaced with clear safety glass and we added a shade for privacy when needed. 3) The table for the dinette is too big for the space. We took it out and just store it for when we might need to use it to convert the dinete into a bed. We use a large tv tray table for indoor dinners and we made our own insert to make the sofa more comfortable. 4) The wardrobe for hanging clothes has two rods that run from the exterior wall to the wardrobe door instead of a single rod running across the top of the wardrobe. A simple modification to make. I notice that Coachmen made this change to later models too. 5) Curved shower door on a track is irritating but functional. Coachmen changed this to a regular swinging door set on the diagonal in later models. Summary: with a few simple modifications, the 2012 Freelander 21QB is a great combination of compact size and desireable features! I would buy it again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (125)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler Cannon

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-14

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freelander 20CBT

View listings

4.4
Love the size of this RV. At only 23 ft it fits everything and allows entrance to state and national parks! Parking at beaches is easy! It sleeps 5 and has a 5 seat belts. Great for small families!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debra L MacLeod

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-11-07

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Freelander 31BH

View listings

5.0
We have been living and traveling in our Coachman Freelander for three years and live it. It's a perfect layout for one or two people. It pulls our Jeep Wrangler with ease. We have not had a single mechanical problem with it at all.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael wilson

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-10-19

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

View listings

3.0
Do not buy a coachmen they are junk from the day I got this I have had nothing but problems windows rattled had to have them replaced and told by the manufacturer they may have to be replaced again because there supplier sucks shower leaked bad took 3 times for them to fix it still not fixed right but it don’t leak that’s 2 of the worst things there was about 20 other things that was bad and that was just after the first trip I called the company and was told that they can’t get good help that’s the problem I stopped taking it in to be fixed because they had it more than I did what made me more mad is the representative I talked too acted like it’s the best we could do with what we have so deal with it
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Oscar Estrada

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-16

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
The full sized shower can be separated from both the back bedroom and the front kitchen area. It has a very large storage bin (basement) area. Except for driving through campground, RV is only allowed to travel on well maintained, paved, minimum 2-lane roads. A GPS Tracking device is installed on RV
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Reyes

California

Reviewed on 2021-04-16

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
Miles on the Powerful Ford Triton V10. Fantastic size with Kitchen and Sofa Slide Out making for a very spacious floor plan for its smaller and easier to drive size. With the Rear Queen Bed, Convertible Dinette, Sofa Bed and Front Loft Bed it offers enough sleeping space for up to 8!! Loaded with amenities and features. Includes 2 Flat Screen TV'S, Jensen Sound System with CD/DVD/MP3
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nicholas Lathouris

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-15

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
The full sized shower can be separated from both the back bedroom and the front kitchen area. It has a very large storage bin (basement) area. Completely self-contained with generator, shower, toilet, microwave, sink, large refrigerator, roof A/C, heater, TV and DVD player.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred Gomes

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-04-09

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Freelander 20CB Ford Transit

View listings

4.2
We're original owners and we're going into our 6th season with our Coachmen Freelander 20CB (This model is no longer made). It continues to serve us well, with NO problem either with the coach's appliances, electrical or water systems, or the Ford Transit engine and chassis. I do keep ahead of ALL maintenance myself and It is covered in the winter with an ADCO RV cover. I polish it and clean the roof once a season. This "beginners" level of motorhome has proven itself.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debra Lind

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-04-08

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Freelander 29KB 450 Ford

View listings

4.2
We just picked up our RV this week. A dream to drive, very smooth and easy to keep steady on the road. When getting it home and taking time to really go over the rv at our leisure, we’ve discovered the following. 1. Parts missing, some important, others not so much. Such as, a cap missing on the awning arm, the rubber cover for one of the captains chairs where you pull to turn the chair around. No windshield cover and cockpit table (it’s on our build sheet). No bedspread (which was likely not one I”d like anyway). Our drivers and passengers chairs are cloth, it specifies “simulated leather, (vinyl). 2. While taking some of the dozen or more stickers off the exterior and interior, one of the interior stickers actually pulled to color right off the wood (it was located in the bedroom area above where the optional washer and dryer would be). 3. My husband went to open a door and it fell apart in his hand (those magnets are strong). 4. Our shower pan has a long crack in it, our dealer patched it so we can use it and they’ve ordered another one. To summarize, we are very happy with our purchase. You can spend twice as much and get stronger, sturdier (and heavier) interior items, (we were checking out Super C’s). In our current budget, with just the two of us semi-retired folks, we know we won’t be hard on this unit. If I had kids at home, and you know kids, they’d destroy much of the interior in no time. 5. This particular Class C has no privacy curtain across the front, not a big deal, I’m purchasing a curtain rod and curtain from Bed Bath and Beyond and ta, da. There are hooks on the ceiling to hang the bar from, easy. Our goal was to stay within a length of 30 foot or less so I’d drive it while he works from the road, Check! To have a separate bedroom with a door rather than a curtain (I get up early and have coffee while the hubby sleeps), Check! This rv has a very roomy rear closet, Check! The E450 will pull our Jeep Unlimited, Check! There is room on the counter top for our Kurig, Check! I can drive it while my husband works front the road, Check! King size bed, DOUBLE CHECK! We will likely by next year, order and install new theatre seating. These seats are “ok”, but we think a good place to relax is rather important. The theatre seating in this rv are very entry level, but ok for now. For under $2000 we can get and install a comfy power set. Our J lounge is perfect for the quick meal, or a place for the grandson to spend the night. We will get a mattress topper for the King bed, the hubby likes a softer mattress. Not a big deal. We had a 40 foot Country Coach, new, MSRP about $500K (that was in 1998) This one came in at $100K, after negotiating a nice discount. So, we can’t expect it to have all the luxury features the old one had. So, for our current needs, this one checks all the boxes. I’d say for sure, when making a purchase, check the build sheet, check the actually rv line by line to ensure it’s got everything you’ve paid for. And, buy local. Sure, you might save a few thousand by driving out of your area, but seriously, who’s going to take care of you? Our dealer is the best. They are currently working with the sales rep for this manufacture to make all the above right on our behalf. Safe Travels!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TRACY

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2021-03-11

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

View listings

4.0
I love this MH for the most part. There are a few things that I dislike, so I will start with those first. The bathroom dosent have a good medicine cabinet. A small crappy thing over the toilet so every time u open the door stuf falls in the toilet if the seat is up. Why did they install a life size mirror? Im camping in the woods not going to the RITZ.My old miniwinie had a very nice med cabinet with small mirror. Next is the shower door made of "glass"that falls off the track and weighs about 30 pounds. Its a pain to put it back on track but the toilet is plastic. None of the cabinets have holders so I need to get them installed, instead of using my head to hold the door open everytime I need to look in the cabinet.No inverter No Spare tire. OK, bed is very comfy and big, storage inside and out is huge. Drives like a truck and easy to minuever and comfortable for a long trip. Handles the blue ridge mountains like butter with full gas and water tanks. Generator is 4000 works great. AC works great. Has backup camera, dvd 40inch tv.Dinnete is a like a half moon, we dont use the table so it give us lots more room. we are considering recliner love seat instead its only 2 with 2 dogs. One sink, 3 burner stove w/oven nice size refridgerator. Outside door entrance has a space for another tv. I use the plug for my coffee pot placed on a small table. Awning is electric. As COVID put our travel plans on hold for a year, we will try and get some use this year for sure. On another note squarriels have eaten my fuel lines on this a rv and brake line on my previous rv. Cost me over 600 to get it fixed. Overall I really love this small MH its great and the upkeep is not too difficult. Safe travels my friends.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review