Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Freedom Express reviews

4.5
Write a review
Liveability
4.7
Overall quality
4.2
Floorplan
4.9
Driving/towing
4.8
Factory warranty
3.7

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

45 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robert

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2017-09-25

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express 248RBS

View listings

5.0
This is the Freedom Express Select (cheaper version of the model). Likes: tows fantastic! increased axle spacing really helps with tracking and control during windy conditions. Fit and finish all over is great. All appliances worked flawlessly for both dry camping and wet camping. Septic flush worked really well though I used the Rhino septic pipe, fittings, flush elbow, etc. stores in bumper. Lighting is good and plentiful inside and in outside rear storage. Also, love the storage everywhere - inside and out. Dislikes: Seat back cushions do not make a uniform substrate for use as a bed due to the non-symmetrical design. We found buying an inflatable Coleman bed worked great on top of the cushions. We don't appreciate the imitation wood pattern paper glued to the luan panels - marrs easily and can actually tear due to a bad scratch or ding. Frames are solid wood and pocket screwed but I doubt the panels will hide wear. Also, the toilet bowl is very, very small! Enough room to have put a larger bowl. The ledge in the bathroom makes no sense but not a problem - just odd 'shelf' with no real use. Though storage everywhere is plentiful, you will need to customize for shelves and dividers or use tote bins as doors don't cover all storage areas. Finally, the white LEDs under the awning is stupid - yes - stupid. Even the cheapest competitors use the remote controlled multi-colored awning lights. White attracts bugs whereas amber or amber-red doesn't. Overall, for $22K we feel this is a great buy and would/will recommend this model and brand. Very happy thus far with our purchase!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (88)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Corvo

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-12-31

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express 22TSX

View listings

4.4
We have had this camper for four Summers. It’s very fun and easy to pull with our 1500 Silverado 5.3. This hybrid concept gives you two queen beds and 22 feet of center living space. We have found this a great camper and would recommend it. We have several grand children and have found this to be a very friendly and inviting unit.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RL

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2021-11-15

RV reviewed2017 Coachmen Freedom Express 312BHDS

View listings

5.0
Great trailer. well built. comfortable. Tows easy. Realy easy to set up and break down. lots of room inside. nice and useable bathroom. Tall enough for a 6' 6" person to use without rubbing hair on the celieng.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carolyn ferran

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-29

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Freedom Express

View listings

5.0
I have only had this RV for a few months and I do know it’s brand is top of the line and the price is dirt cheap compared to what these rigs currently go for! If thinking about it you need to act pretty quick as I will take to dealer first part of next week!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carolyn Ferran

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-26

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Freedom Express

View listings

5.0
I’m personal owner! Used 3 times only!! Still smells brand new!!! Excellent condition!!! NEW Very comfortable floor plan!! All brand new!! Ready to go!!! Text 512-568-0591 now!!! It will sell fast!!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-10-13

RV reviewed2022 Coachmen Freedom Express

View listings

3.2
Bought this Coachmen Freedom Express travel trailer after looking for a used fifth wheel. Bought it brand new based on the quality reputation I had heard. So disappointed. Bought it last Friday and went on first trip. 3 days and the Dometic fridge has not worked at all. The water heater stopped working for both electric and propane on day 3. Had to shower at the campground shower. Not why I bought brand new. Should have stuck with a used fifth wheel with the bugs worked out. Overpaid and received much less than expected.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Susan Baron

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-23

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Freedom Express 248RBS

View listings

5.0
We have loved traveling in this travel trailer. It was our home away from home. I’ve seen a few adventures. And it was always nice to be able to come home to your own bed. The nicest thing I’d have to say about this trailer is when you are stopped at a rest area. You can fully access the bathroom and refrigerator. Two things that I think that are very important when you’re looking for a travel trailer. And I love the fact that there’s a door that you can close if one person gets up before the other. Not just a curtain in between use it lets the light through and certainly the noise. It’s well insulated because we never had any trouble with outside noise.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Maryland

Reviewed on 2021-04-15

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Freedom Express

View listings

2.6
We purchased a 246 RKS. As soon as we left the dealer in Smyrna, Delaware we started finding problems. Called the dealer 3 times and no return calls. We had a trip planned so I fixed several issues myself. So far the issues have been plumbing leaks, wiring issues, there is a rail on the side of the RV that you mount the griddle on and it fell off, screen door hinges are falling off because the screws are stripped out, and I can go on and on. Underside of the frame is already rusting b/c it wasn’t properly painted so I will be doing that myself also. The delivery process was a joke as well. The kid they had getting everything ready for us installed the tow bar incorrectly. After we got home I watched a YouTube about it and redid it myself. This was obviously a dealer issue and not the manufacturer but for us, in general the whole experience was negative. Terrible workmanship and no quality control. If you are going to buy a Coachman you had better be a handy person because you will constantly be fixing something.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John A. Anthony

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-03-18

RV reviewed2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 246RKS

View listings

5.0
I got lucky, bought a two owner TT that had been stored inside since it was purchased, and she is still stored inside. Talked to both previous owners, the first owner had a few common new RV repairs, but no major issues. Second owner, no issues. We have had minor preventative issues taken care of. No water leakes, all is original and all still very functional. Buy used, know the previous owners if possible. A good review of any coach will tell you if it was taken care of.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin T

California

Reviewed on 2020-10-26

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Freedom Express 231RBDS

View listings

4.8
This is our first travel trailer, and we were towing novices at the beginning. We have put around 10k miles on it and at least 80 nights. We pull it with a Dodge Ram 1500 3.6L gas V6 engine with tow package, using a weight distribution hitch. It tows well. We especially love the large shower, plentiful storage inside, full sized queen bed with sliding doors to close it off, and that we can still access everything with the slide in. With the slide out, we have no trouble staying in it for weeks at a time; it is visually attractive with its light color scheme and spacious for the two of us. We stay plenty warm even in cold weather, and the AC worked fine in the limited times we used it in hot weather. We had no issues with it in the first year and therefore had no contact with customer support, so I can't rate that, but gave it a 5 since I am forced to rate that. Negatives: After a year my husband's side of the mattress is broken down; all the fabric shades will no longer lift up, and the padding on the dinette benches is no longer firm. All of these things can be remedied with replacements. Overall we are very happy with it and recommend it, especially for couples with a tall person.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 45 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review