Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen FREEDOM EXPRESS ULTRA LITE reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.4

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Richard Rotte

Colorado

Reviewed on 2020-06-18

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 259FKDS

View listings

4.4
Great layout with plentiful storage. Upon delivery I made some modifications. I added vent covers to protect from hail damage and I cut down the RV King bed to a standard queen, in order to make more room for making the bed. I brought the unit home from the dealer and made the above modifications, then I put the unit in storage; about 40 minutes, each way, from home. When I brought the unit out of storage last week to make our first trip I noted that the clothes rod, hanger strip, in the hall closet had fallen, with nothing on it. I rehung the rod using larger, shorter, screws and put a screw in every hole. Upon arrival noted the clothes rod, hanger strip, had come down on one side, bent, and was being held up by the one screw the was in a cross strut. Built frame out of oak 1 x 2 after returning home and reattached clothes rod, hanger strip. Shortly after arriving noticed that there was something hanging under unit with some wire. Inspection revealed that an access had been cut into the bottom cover and then taped up and the tape did not adhere. I retaped with duct tape, but it did not hold. I retaped with carpet tape today, not sure if it will hold?????? When using the DVD player there were lines on the TV and I could not get the sound to come through the TV speakers. Removed DVD player and moved L and R speaker wires from input to output. Upon leaving the camp site it was noted that the USB charging outlet under the TV was not working. Ordered replacement on Amazon. When my wife opened the freezer, at the camp site, the beauty panel fell out. I reinstalled the panel, but it fell out again when we were unloading the unit after we returned home. This time I put carpet tape on the top and bottom of the panel prior to reinstalling. We'll see. While taping the access panel under the unit I noticed that the holes where the lines and pipes came out from under the rig were not completely sealed. I used some high density foam to thoroughly seal the openings. Noticed that some of the exterior trim screws are coming out and I will replace those with aluminum pop rivets. I'm a little annoyed but overall happy with the unit. We really like the layout.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick K

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-07-26

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 287BHDS

View listings

2.6
We ordered this unit brand new straight from the factory Jan 2020. Received March 2020. The day after we took possession of unit we noticed water on the floor by the slide. We took it the next day to a dealership to diagnose. Found out the slide was leaking when it was closed. If it was open it was fine. The unit sat at the dealership for 3 months and nothing was done. We ended up taking the unit to another dealership. This dealership worked on it off and on and we would go get it in between to try and use it. We used it total of 5 times in the span of 16 months that we owned it. In these five times here is a list of problems and warranty work done. 1. Leaking Slide 2. Leaking toilet 3. Sink Drain leaked 4.Large sliding window in slide was bent and would not lock. 6. Battery was bad after 6 months 7.Front jack went bad. 8. Front screen door handle broke. 9. Black water cleanout backflow valve leaked. We have owned 3 RV's before this one never having issues like this. Most things were fixed by the dealership and taken care of except for the slide leak. The dealership thought the hole was cut to big but coachmen thought it was seals. When the camper is not at the dealership we have had to pay for undercover storage to keep the unit from being damaged. The dealership has tried 7 or 8 different fixes for the slide and none have worked. As the consumer it has been very frustrating because the dealership blames coachmen for the delay and time for the next fix and then coachmen blames the dealership. It has taken 16 months to get the leak resolved. This includes myself calling or going into the dealership weekly. We have called coachmen and talked to Steve Brandenburg multiple times. He was not very helpful or in a hurry to get this resolved. I had asked for refund of my storage cost and they would not. You would think they would want to get a leaking camper resolved as soon as possible but 16 months later we have been told it is finally fixed. We share this story so others will know that customer service has been nothing short of non existent. The quality of the camper we bought was poor. Just know going in coachmen will be tough to work with if you have a major problem. In the end we are appreciative of the dealership and their help to get us through this. As soon as they told us it was fixed July 2021 we sold the unit immediately. Sadly to say the happiest day we had owning the RV. We will not purchase a coachmen or forest river product ever again due to the lack of pride in the product. Do your homework and if possible hire a 3rd party RV inspector even if it is brand new. It could save you a lot of time, frustration and money!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kristina

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-04-05

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 257BHS

View listings

2.6
We bought this RV brand new and notice several defects the first time we took it out. The toilet leaked, there was a hole in the awning, the refrigerator door broke, water leaked in from the skylight in the bathroom ect. I could look over all of these defects if it wasn't for the fact that we have been waiting 8 months for the repairs to be completed and are still waiting to received a completion date. At this point we don't even want the RV anymore. We would just assume get our money back and be done with it.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Betz

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2020-11-09

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 246RKS

View listings

4.4
Have no problems with the RV. Did not give full marks for livability as it is not for full timing but vacations. Nothing wrong so did not call on Factory for support. I tow it with a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6, no problems tows smoothly. We like rear kitchen as fridge is close to outside. We like the bedroom in rear for privacy. Plenty of storage. Great having the dining booth overlooking the campsite rather than the other side of the unit. Power awning, power tongue jack and power stab jacks great.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gerri Szamocki

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2020-10-10

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 192RBS

View listings

3.6
Thisis our 4th Travel Trailer and our 1st new one. I am not impressed, the quality is definitely not at the level I expected. It appears to have been just thrown together. The cabinet hardware was mounted using too short screws and pulled out upon opening, the panel at the end of the bed to the floor is 1/8 luan and will not stay attached to the frame. The shower is adequate but the floor is very flexible, it feels ready to break. The small details are shoddily done, the trim is not finished on the ends, the light cover over the bed falls off each time I turn it on, not enough storage on the inside, the outlets move when you plug in things to the point that it bows the luan, already had to have the USB ports on either side of the bed replaced, and to have indicator lights on everything is ridiculous, I don't need a bright blue light on all the time the water heater is on. So very disappointed in this brand new camper, already looking to trade.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

fendr1962

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-09-08

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 192RBS

View listings

3.2
We bought our first RV January 2020. First time having it out we were not able to run clean water into the black tank to rinse it out. Dealer found the hose was crimped. Also the air conditioner kept popping the circuit breaker sometimes in the RV and other times out at the electrical post. Dealer replaced the AC unit. New one was making a racket at time of pickup from repair. Took rig to Colorado. Shower leaked water that I fixed with silicon and the commode water line leaked. I fixed that also. I dropped off my RV at the dealer on way back from Colorado for warranty repairs. I have about 10 items on the list for repairs. I thought buying a Coachman would mean better quality. How wrong I was. These RV's are just thrown together with little quality control. The dealer has no skin in the game as far as repairs since they just rely on the warranty. Warranty repair takes forever to get approval and repaired. You better be good at doing repairs if you own an RV. They will charge you an arm and leg if your rig is not under warranty. Not sure if you can find any that are built with real quality. THe manufacturer and the dealer expect you to do the quality control which requires you to do all the work getting it back in for repairs. And it take weeks to get your unit repaired. I dropped my off and was told it would be in line for repairs for two weeks before they would lift a finger to do any repairs. This is reality in owning an RV. If you don't like working on RV's for have lots of cash for repairs don't bother buying one. That's my advice.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elbert Kennard

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-07-25

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 246RKS

View listings

5.0
A wonderful sample easy to tow and easy to set up. Great camper for the small family or couple. Because it's a 30 amp system its always easy to find a camp ground that we can use. The size also makes it easy to tow, any half ton pickup can tow with ease.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tammy

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-06-21

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 192RBS

View listings

5.0
We love our camper. My only complaint would be the ac is a single unit in the center of the ceiling and its loud. It makes it hard to sleep sometimes because the system is so loud. Other than that this is the perfect trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deb Fernandes

Alberta

Reviewed on 2020-06-08

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 246RKS

View listings

2.0
We bought this rv for the floor plan, removable table etc. I have to agree with the reviews I have read. Poor quality everywhere. Before we had even used it, the door fell,off, the frame around the bed fell down exposing screws, the microwave worked for 3 minutes, the heater started to run with no way to turn it off (an 800 dollar repair) and While the paperwork said the furnace was covered for 2 years the dealership told us this isn’t actually the case. Honestly we don’t feel safe in it. One of the footings fell off. I could go on. Someone need to be accountable for the poor quality of the product.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tammie

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-11-26

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 246RKS

View listings

5.0
I have owned this a little less than one year and absolutely love it. It is used primarily for long weekends and vacations, about a total of 30 days. There are many features the others don't have - outdoor kitchen, dinette with removable free standing table, loveseat, and window in bathroom. Tows great and is small enough so parking is easy in most campgrounds including state parks. Had issue with oven but the dealer replaced it and did other minor fixes covered under warranty. Perfect size for a couple and guests/grandkids. One slide is enough to give an open feel. Would not change anything to its design.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review