Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Clipper reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
4.1
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.9

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

23 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

C. Alexander Baker

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-02-20

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Clipper 17BH

View listings

4.2
We have owned a 2016 CC 17BH since November of 2015. After 15 months we've taken 4 trips; the first was 1800 miles round trip. So far it's been a great value since we got it for $10,000 brand new including TTL. Like other owners, I can attest to the build quality leaving something to be desired. The finishing looks rushed and storage area under the main bed are not "finished out" as you might expect and in a way I can't imagine how much more time it would have taken to ensure that screws were run straight and the quality control is certainly something that could be improved. One interior speaker seems to have been hastily installed and I had to take it out and adjust the connection in order to ensure it no longer cut in and out.. We haven't experienced any major functionality issues with plumbing or electrical barring a blown fuse in the battery connection once a year ago, but the thing is for the price I have made an effort to start learning as much as I can about maintenance and repair on travel trailers.. Lots of WD-40 and careful attention to joints and seals. Wash the rubber roof every 3 months and take care of it like it's your baby.. I understand that these coaches are put together very quickly and may lack the higher level finishing of a Mini Winnie or other, more expensive coaches but we're talking about half the price of a Mini Winnie also.. give and take in many respects. My feelings are that this is an exceptional value for a first time camper for a small family (4 or less) on a budget that has decided to make the commitment of a TT purchase and have at least a 3,500 lb. towing capacity vehicle.. that particular point being said, I would NOT recommend towing with anything less than a half-ton truck for safety-sake. Short wheel base (SWB) vehicles are not as capable at maintaining positive control even with a WD hitch.. lack of adequate HP and torque will also result in very slow highway speeds and heavy load on the transmission especially in high head winds. Even with it's 2,800+ dry weight make sure if you go this route you have at least a 300HP vehicle.. Finally, let me say that in the world of TT's you'll always get more value if you take ownership of the maintenance and upkeep. The CC 17BH might be low-end, but the floor plan is well thought out and there are some nice features that are well and above the new Cadet series that Coachmen is pushing these days..
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (75)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bradley Bonnell

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-11-05

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Clipper 24RBS

View listings

3.0
Overall first appearance is good. First time out everything worked great. Preparing for second trip the water heater failed on both electric and gas. The freezer worked but the fridge didn’t. Outdoor kitchen door latch is flimsy and requires realignment frequently. Cabinet door hinges wont stay adjusted. Awning wasn’t aligned correctly when installed so it pops loudly upon extending. Stone guard is coming loose in front. Leak in storage compartment from door or roof? Bath sink was plugged with shavings from installation. Dinette table is heavy and cumbersome to fold and unfold. Not much room to pass at foot of the bed. Overall I’d give this camper 3 stars. I’m hoping the dealer trades me out of it.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-07-12

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Clipper 806XLS

View listings

2.4
I purchased this trailer new in November, 2019. One of the main reasons I bought this trailer was the advertised ability to raise the roof using a drill with the supplied bit. Imagine my disappointment when I was told by the dealer when I picked up the trailer to never, ever use a drill to raise or lower the roof. They told me they have done countless repairs on the lift system because the gear in the lift mechanism cannot handle the strain. On my second trip, the door literally fell off as I was driving. One of the bolts that secures the door/step to the frame fell out. I called the 1 800 support number to find out the size of the bolt so I could look for a replacement. They had no idea. I had to unhook the trailer, drive into the nearest town and buy three bolts, hoping one of them would fit. When I got back, I called the dealer and was told that it would take two weeks to repair. They did give me the name of a retailer that sold the correct size and style bolt, and I made the repair myself. On another trip, the bracket that holds the sliding bed mechanism broke. One of the large rivets literally broke off. I had to buy a rivet gun and the rivets to repair it. On another trip, the GFCI went bad and I could not use either of the 110 outlets for the remainder of my trip. I had to track down the correct GFCI replacement and repair it myself. Over the last several months, numerous screws and bolts have loosened and fallen out. I have had to replace several screws with slightly larger ones to insure a secure fit. The liner on the ceiling has been torn by the screen door during travel, and the list goes on. It seems like every time I take it out, I have another repair to look forward to. I believe the trailer was manufactured here in America. Well honestly, I am seriously disappointed in the lack of quality.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darren Klimek

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-03-12

RV reviewed2017 Coachmen Clipper 21FQ

View listings

5.0
Very nice camper. Has plenty of options. Pulling this travel trailer is a breeze do to the light weight. Easy maneuvering due to the length of camper. The family really enjoys camping when it comes to this travel trailer. I’d recommend this camper to anyone looking for relaxing camping trip.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Myron Ury

Missouri

Reviewed on 2020-12-27

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Clipper 17RD

View listings

4.8
We have owned our trailer for 5 seasons We love it 😊 Right size to pull and park in small camp sites very durable and all the features you need went on several 2 week long trips all went well. We only used the bathroom in the camper and although small very workable the storage is best for that size of trailer
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mr. Kelly

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2020-12-06

RV reviewed2014 Coachmen Clipper 17BH

View listings

4.0
Insurance bought me this new in 2014 for $11K to live in while my house was repaired. Local dealer AC Nelson was great with a repair (Not the campers fault) We use it 2-3X a year and I rent it out about 10X a year. Rent has way way way more than paid for it.... er what Insurance paid for it. Not the greatest finish craftsmanship, but good enough and you get what you pay for. Nothing glaring. Only ever had minor and expected issues over the years and has held up super well even as a rental though I do take very well care of my stuff. I had to reinforce the lower bunk as the supports gave and someone sunk at night..... Easy fix with plywood on both ends underneath and did no real damage. Never been happy with the fridge performance, but I prefer coolers anyway. Just sprung a leak in the fresh water tank somewhere near the top so only lose about a gallon so no big deal though I will fix in the spring. Fresh tank belly droops when full more than I like as it hands down so I will add a support bar. Though it's super lite, I wish it were tandem as I think it's a little much loaded for camper tires having had a few tire issues I think are load related. Not enough battery capacity to run the heater for more than a night or two max when it gets below 40°. Probably the ideal camper to rent out, and gets great rental reviews. The back door to bunk is super helpful for loading. Seriously, all bunk houses should have that. Great also for larger storage items. Lots of storage inside compared to other campers it's size. Super easy to tow even for smaller trucks. A couple other things I wish it had, but not really fair to give the camper hits for that, just pointing out. Like Queen bed, taller shower, better craftsmanship, space for 2 batteries. Still worth $10.1K 6yrs later according to my insurance hail claim. I found this model is in demand and hard to get, so still worth a lot. If you are keeping score. Camper was free to me, I made probably $18K renting it over the years, have been able to use a low maint. camper over the years, got $10,100 for it from insurance 6 years later for minor hail damage. (Though I bought it back so pocketed $5,800 and still has a clear title.) I plan to continue renting it to bring in more money. This camper has been a major win.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rodney Ragoobar

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-11-13

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Clipper 17FQ

View listings

1.0
Worst decision that I ever made by buying from General RV and Ocala a brand new 2021 clipper coachman and every single thing is wrong with that RV heater coils blow the power Stop working the refrigerator freezers in the refrigerator and has moisture in the freezer. Constantly calling to get repairs saying they don’t have the parts. I wish I never bought this piece of junk.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patricia McMenemy

Michigan

Reviewed on 2020-10-06

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Clipper Pop-up

View listings

1.8
Stay away from this camper. 10 days owned. outer grill doesn't attach to camper. Our dealer advices coachman co. General rv had seen several clipper models have this issue grill falls off side of camper. We have several water leaks inside and outside, no heat, canvas doesn't fit properly you have to use a small ladder to wrap around the poles. Bench bed is made with paneling. Refrigerator is cheaply made leaks inside after 24 hrs on. Pop out beds are tough to attach bars, outside outlet causes inside power outlets to shut off. Door is awkward to attach. This isn't a one person set up on this model. Feel like we bought a lemon 🍋 very disappointed with this coachman camper...
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Arthur Smith

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-09-24

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Clipper 17FQ

View listings

4.4
To go through the process, only to find out that the $20k RV is Worth only $8k less than a month.. for a 2021 Coachman Clipper17 FQ.. is a Hard reality 2 the RV World.. my experience buying this from cricket RV on division Street in Spokane Washington was the worst experience.. I have been living in my RV less than 6 weeks my furnace does not work my circuit breaker to my water heater was no good my fuse that goes to my DC AC charge system was half and half out so as I was driving down the road it wasn't charging correctly.. so there was a reason why they stamped no warranty all over this when I purchased it from cricket RV in Spokane Washington on division Street... So I have not made a payment on it yet I have contacted click it RV and explain the situation about the furnace they have done nothing not surprisingly if you see their reviews on the better business bureau and with the attorney general so let's do your homework when you're purchasing a unit from any RV vendor on the history of the lot you're dealing with.. as for the warranty people for Forest River they have been wonderful and this is what cricket RV not only preying on me they are preying on them by passing the buck down the line on the client that purchased the vehicle and the vendor that's carrying the warranty to continue in the better business bureau and with the attorney general.. they reply to me was bring it into their service department I am 6 hours away from where I purchased the vehicle I am the middle of Oregon and Washington where the fires have been going on for 2 weeks there are no places to bring the vehicle the vehicle is permanently fixed in RV Park in the seals people at cricket RV are refusing to authorize a mobile unit to come out to properly hook in a new furnace that I purchased it's going to be due here in a week and a half so this is what you get when you purchase something from a bad reputation or the dealer that's listed in the better business bureau and with the attorney general with a history of issues.. thank you very much Atwood in Forest River for holding your side of your warranties for the original buyer if I wasn't the original buyer of this vehicle... so buyer beware if you're going to be purchasing a vehicle from the cricket RV on division Street in Spokane Washington do the research with the better business bureau and the attorney general they have a history.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan Green

Missouri

Reviewed on 2020-08-03

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Clipper 12XL

View listings

2.0
Long list of issues,water leak,roof problems,refrigerator ,door,lack of support,run around on phone to talk to somebody,then told may be along time to get repaired,who's going to make payments while I can't use it?
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 23 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review