Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.9
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
3.1

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike Walling

Idaho

Reviewed on 2017-11-11

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 23RBS

View listings

4.8
We bought this unit brand new this year. Overall quality is outstanding. The Aluminum frame with Azdel vacuum bonded walls will not delaminate and are stronger and have better insulation value. Whomever said the wood framing on their Apex has been compromised due to staples backing out doesn't know what they're talking about... no wood or staples in these walls. There were some issues with wood trim coming loose because the factory pin nailer shot the pins all the way through the trim piece. I simply glued the trim back on with wood glue and it will stay on forever. Great floor plan, great towability, quality construction. Love this camper!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (38)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-08-23

RV reviewed2017 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 215RBK

View listings

3.2
We camp in nature not on a Walmart parking lot! This last trip , we had to drive in a field, slowly but surely, there were a few dips. I turned on the propane and could smell propane. Check the line and it is pinched between the frame and spring, Not designed well or the installation was by a lazy person. Fortunately a friend had some tape and it made it through the week, not have to rip it apart and replace the hose. This was the last problem I had, so far….. I don’t recommend coachman trailers.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nancylynn opiola

Ontario

Reviewed on 2021-07-24

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 215RBK

View listings

4.6
We purchased this RV, used, in 2013. Original owners used it twice and camping wasn't their thing. Our gain! We have had NO problems with this camper. None. Lots of storage, easy to tow, never had a water leak, everything works as expected 9 years later! Absolutely no complaints. Looking for a newer camper and would definitively stick with an apex if they have a layout we like with a bit more living space.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-06-11

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 235BHS

View listings

3.2
Bought brand new, before we used it , it rained and we had water inside( dealer repaired) We travel gravel roads these are not made for gravel!!!!! Fibreglass front extremely chipped ( I applied a box liner coating, hope it holds up!!!!!) As I said these are not made for gravel roads. The dust inside was terrible, I have video!!! Holes for plumbing not sealed I used a lot of foam spray( can’t take it in to dealer for everything, would never go camping!!!! Water pump dead line needs repair now!!!! I don’t recommend this company!!!!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William

New York

Reviewed on 2021-04-30

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 293RLDS

View listings

4.6
This being our first travel trailer the wife picked it for the room that the opposing sides give you and kitchen island. After my inspection the enclosed and insulated under belly was a must. We have had the unit for a year now made several trips feeling more confident we will be traveling this year with longer trips. We do not regret this purchase.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matthew Asper

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-02-20

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 245BHS

View listings

4.8
Great summer fun for the family. Built well overall. Bathroom is very limited with space and uncomfortable, however bc of its light weight, we can pull with our suv. The Floorplan offers a lot for a small unit and we think after lots of research we made the right decision. Its narrower than a typical camper so mirror extensions are not necessary but the large dinette slide out makes up for the lost space. We really like the aluminum frame construction as well as the Azdel walls on the exterior. The Azdel walls do a great job of blocking any outside noise and are very easy to keep clean. Overall, this is the perfect camper for a small family with a limited budget and limited towing capability.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Erik Reitz

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2020-12-24

RV reviewed2013 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 151RBX

View listings

4.6
Loved this camper trailer. Set up quickly, efficient floor plan, easy to haul, quality materials. At 6'-6" tall I had a problem under the ceiling mounted air conditioner. Would definitely recommend this trailer to anyone who wanted the feeling of sleeping in a tent but the convenience of a bathroom and kitchen.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pat D

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2020-10-17

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 293RLDS

View listings

4.4
Absolutely love the floor plan! Recliners directly across from big screen tv and fireplace is perfect for relaxing. Kitchen area is nice with center island. Bathroom is adequate size for rv. Front bedroom is smaller then I would like. Difficult to move around the bed. Front window at head of bed is nice to look out at night and morning.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Wimberly

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-06-04

RV reviewed2017 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 289TBSS

View listings

4.8
We purchased our Apex 289TBSS in 2017 after attending 6 RV shows and working with four local dealers. Our primary objectives in deciding on a floor plan were 1) light weight for towing, 2) key functionality requirements, 3) exterior amenities, 4) interior comfort and 5) ample storage. Having experience towing heavy items and large, boxy items we knew that towing a heavy, large, and boxy item would not be ideal regardless of the towing capacity of our personal truck (an F-150 with rated towing capacity of 10,500). Many people think that just because the truck is "rated" to tow something, it safely can. This unit was just the fit. At 32', it only weighed 5900 lbs dry so towing was a breeze with our Andersen weight distribution and sway control hitch system. (We have ridden with friends towing 9000 lb, 35'campers and you often "pucker up" as a tractor-trailer or strong breeze comes along) We have two girls, so we knew we needed to provide them with some privacy, especially when they had friends camping with us. The rear bunk room with pocket door was just the trick. We also like the "L" shaped bunks which provided a nice jack-knife sofa below so all the kids could sit and watch movies in their space in the event of a rain storm. The only way to do this with a quad, opposing-wall bunk room was with a slide which added too much weight. The master offers pocket door access to each side of the bed which is great for my wife and I as we don't have to turn-sideways and squeeze around 8" of space at the end of the bed to get to the other side as was with many other models with only one entrance to the master bedroom. The outside has a huge awning with blue LED lights that doesn't attract bugs (all outdoor lights are blue). Also, the exterior kitchen was a requirement because, as we predicted, we do most of our cooking (and living) outside. The outdoor fridge is very handy as well! The counter space in the outdoor kitchen is used to store many things, but mostly our outdoor roll-up foot rugs and cleaning supplies. We also enjoy the outdoor cable hookup as we love to watch college football camping in the Fall! One very nice feature that many people (including us) overlooked was the rack-and-pinion slide. This is a very nice upgrade over a cable-slide and doesn't require the annual adjustment that most cable-slides require. The interior is really where this unit shines for us. You have to remember, we held ourselves to a strict standard of 6000 lbs dry weight with a bunkroom so finding a great deal of interior comfort features was going to be difficult. But, this unit has exceeded our expectations. Although counter space is limited, the sink cover comes in handy to provide a few extra ft2 of working space. The 15k BTU AC unit works brilliantly as does the unit's furnace. We have never been hot nor cold in the summer nor winter and we camp in the extremes (un-shaded places at the beach in the summer, and shady places in the mountains in the winter). The fridge is plenty large for a week's trip and the microwave and cooktop/oven have both come in handy on many occasions. The bathroom is tight, but tidy and I have no problem showering or "sitting" (I am 6'4" so this was an issue in most units). The upgraded tri-fold sofa is very comfortable and the dinette was thankfully slightly larger than most in these size units. Storage abounds in this unit for it's size and weight. We have never run out of space and we carry around 1400 lbs of "stuff" based upon our scale check. The pass through storage is huge and we are able to keep all of our outdoor items and more in there. Overall, we could not be happier with our decision to purchase the Apex 289TBSS. Looking back, we definitely made the right decision in the unit we purchased. Our kids love the camper and would go every weekend if we would let them!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gord

Manitoba

Reviewed on 2020-01-20

RV reviewed2017 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 215RBK

View listings

2.2
Too many manufactures quality defects. Manufactures warranty for ONE YEAR ? Actually here in canada , weather only permits us to use our RV 5 months of summer weather. So only some manufactures defects were covered by warranty for those 5 months of use. I will be replacing this rv with another brand that offers 3 year warranty .
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review