Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Chinook Concourse reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
4.9
Floorplan
4.8
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
1.1

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

9 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Paul Boutross

Illinois

Reviewed on 2014-12-29

RV reviewed2000 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

3.4
This is a very small full size motorhome. I mean to say, it has everything the full size motorhomes have except square footage. That said, it has its place in the RV world. Touch and go, Hop's and skip's, Quick in, Quick out. No need to pull a car. It IS the car as well as the motorhome. 21 feet of well thought out, fun. A happy wagon. In fact, that is my CB handle, Happywagon. Give me a shout sometime. I am not kidding when I tell you that parked it on the street in downtown Nashville Indiana. We did not take up more then one car spot and no one looked twice at us. It has opened up a whole new world of travel for us and the price is right too. Ok on gas and cozy to boot. It has solar panals to keep the batteries charged when sitting, also hydrolic jscks that are usually found on the big rig's as well as all the other aminities. This baby is extremely well build thru and thru and even though it is 15 years old, I can see that she really has lots of life left in her. I feel so lucky to have one.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (79)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Davenport

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-04-23

RV reviewed1998 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.4
This Review is for a 1995 Chinook Premier - the budget/cheaper version of the Concourse. The two of us have owned our Chinook for seven years. Upgraded the batteries/electrical system to modern standards to improve ability to boondock, replaced 3 way fridge with AC/DC Danfoss compressor fridge (huge upgrade), a few other minor tweaks. Our longest trip was seven weeks to the maritime provinces of Canada. For the size, it's a very livable floor plan. Couch/dinette makes into a California King which we can make/unmake in a few minutes (we leave the foam topper/sheets made on the couch portion and stow 'extra' under the couch when it is up. Pillows and bedding go behind the couch). The wet bath looks tiny, but you can do everything you need to in there including a hot shower. We have a 'one man rule' -- only one person can be up at a time because it is tight but more open than most B's we've been in (this is a B ). Easy to drive, ample power for passing, 11 mpg running at 65 mph. With the new refrigerator we don't have to be level, so setting up camp takes a couple of minutes as does tear down. I think this is a great 2 person motorhome for people who like to MOVE. Sitting in camp for a week or two? This is too cramped for that, but you can go almost anywhere in this rig and see things. We camp in front of our kid's houses when we visit, we go to national and state parks and BLM land. We've logged 60,000 miles and maybe 250 nights out so far and this well built machine has enabled us to experience a lot of places. Despite the age of the unit, problems have been minimal. Most of the unit is original, including the AC and generator which still work. We had to replace the furnace this year. We had a leak where I installed a new fan (my bad) but I fixed that easy enough. The spare tire holder had to be rewelded. The original fuel pump caused the engine to stall out in high heat, which might explain why I got the unit with such low miles. Thanks to the internet, I knew to get that replaced and later drove through Death Valley in 120 F with the AC blasting with no problems. Trail Wagons went bankrupt years ago and the unit is 27 years old, so obviously no warranty/factory support. This is built on the 1994 Ford E350 Econoline chassis, so there is still good support for that.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kimberlee slavik

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-03-26

RV reviewed2003 Chinook Concourse

View listings

4.6
We call this our Texas Limo. It's BETTER than a limo! Easier to drive and park, you can stand up in it, very comfortable, and it has a porta-potty! We also called it our Dragon Wagon (HS Football tailgating), and our Porta-party (when we filled it with Friends and Family when we took it to look at Christmas lights, concerts, Cowboy Games, and other sporting events.) We love that we didn't have to pay premium fees for parking with the other larger RVs because this is just 21 feet, it fits in a regular parking spot. You don't LIVE in this RV, you have an incredible EXPERIENCE and RIDE in this RV.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam Zeno

Illinois

Reviewed on 2020-04-27

RV reviewed2002 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.2
Always stored inside. Mint condition in and out. They don't make quality units like this anymore. No seams, solid fiberglass body construction, all oak wood cabinets, maintenance records & receipts from origination date. All manuals and catalogs. Perfect size 21 ft coach/24 ft overall makes easy parking in any campground, State & National Parks. Near the mountain or the stream where big rigs can only dream about. Make your memories with this RV
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Winters

Michigan

Reviewed on 2019-09-05

RV reviewed1998 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.0
Having experienced other RV's (Air Stream, Winnebago,etc.)this one is an easy handling rig! Have to go into town for groceries, movie or any other reason? No fear! This is as large as a Ford F-350 and easy to park in standard parking spaces. Connection at the park site is simple! Rollout the water hose, connect the electric line and you're all set to enjoy life's finer attributes! If you find a level site, no need to get the ramps out and hassle with leveling (but you can if needed). The unit we have has practically all of the options one could purchase in 1998. [This unit is presently for sale, so contact me for pictures and pricing (ChasWinters@gmail.com).]
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

FLORENT LESPERANCE

Florida

Reviewed on 2016-04-24

RV reviewed2001 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

3.2
The best one shell unit on the road to-day,this one look like new,well maintain and being a Diesel will last for a long time?This unit has everything to live in even better in some way than some bigger one for instance it has a three unit burners stove and a large 2 doors refrigerator'
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Florent L'Esperance

Florida

Reviewed on 2016-04-17

RV reviewed2001 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

3.4
This RV Chinook Concourse is one all around good and handy to travel around town or long distance because it's like driving a van or pickup truck easy to Park and the Diesel is economical and tough. Being a small camper it has everything a big rig has?
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (22)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terri

Oregon

Reviewed on 2016-04-04

RV reviewed2006 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

3.8
This is a Chinook so be ready for fellow campers in an RV campground to strike up a conversation with you. Many want to see inside it! I had the uncomfortable "jack knife sofa" removed & a twin size platform custom built. Now the bed stays made up all the time,no wrestling with the cumbersome sofa! The dinette also makes into a twin size bed. I love the little bathroom & toilet especially in the middle of the night! The rig is small enough to park anywhere in a regular sized parking space...downtown, grocery stores, diners. I felt safe & secure whether driving it or sleeping in it. One solid rig. There is a great Yahoo group called ChinookRVowners that has tons of information about the Chinook from their owners. Happy Camping!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (33)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete

California

Reviewed on 2014-12-29

RV reviewed2009 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.0
good
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 9 of 9 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review