Airstream Interstate Reviews on RV Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Airstream Interstate RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Theodor Mulder from Arizona says:

The Fusion infotainment system failed withing the first 500 miles. The replacement of this unit took 3 weeks at a large Airstream service center in Ph

Read More (28 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Fusion infotainment system failed withing the first 500 miles. The replacement of this unit took 3 weeks at a large Airstream service center in Phoenix. Then the top fridge failed followed shortly by the furnace. Some of the automatic blinds then also stopped responding to the remote input controller. All the above failures with less than 2000 miles on the unit
- Theodor Mulder, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-21 2011 Airstream Interstate 3500 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This vehicle has everything we want in an easy to drive RV. The queen-sized bed is very comfortable. We leave the bed up all the time, not needing to set it up each night. Airstream does a great job with the appliances. We have added a TV antenna, a bike rack with basket that holds 2 bikes (can hold 4), 2 inflatable kayaks, 2 beach chairs and a bag containing a portable gas grill and Coleman stove. The swing arm on the bike rack still allows access to the vehicle's rear doors, and makes it easier to load the bikes and other items. This vehicle fits in the width of a normal parking spot, but needs more than 1 length. TV swing arm allows us to watch TV outside as well as inside. We have removed the 2 second row seats to build in storage and working space, but will include the seats with the sale. The fronts seats swivel to face the back for us to eat or watch TV. The is very little wasted space. Standard Airstream features include a generator, 2 burner propane stove, kitchen sink, microwave / convection oven, small refrigerator and even a build in coffee maker. There is even an outside shower! You can even take a shower in the bathroom. The air conditioner / heater and ceiling vent fan keep the vehicle as warm or cold as you might like. We have taken this RV from Northern New England to as far west as California, and all across the south from Florida to Texas, Arizona and New Mexico. My wife really enjoys driving this vehicle, all 5'2" of her.
- Larry Hersh, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-09 2016 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great little RV. Drives like a car. Easy to park. Super comfy bed. Shower is a bit tight, but it works. Airstream service a bit busy and expensive but people want the best so it is always popular and you get what you pay for.
- Matt Morrow, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-20 2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Garbage. Don't buy one. I spend $175,000 for this unit and it is continuously in the shop for a whole variety of reasons. The 3 year "limited" warranty is exactly that: Limited. After one year it won't cover parts and labor for components that were purchased and installed by Airstream to construct the motorcoach: Generator, AC, Heat, refrigerator, etc etc....basically the entire thing. I've run into other Airstream owners with the exact same complaints. I'm through with this thing and am trying to sell it. I could have purchased another Sprinter based RV for less then half of what I paid for this.
- David Sapia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-09 2016 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I bought this Sprinter new from John’s RV in 2016, so I’ve had it four years. The first year the shower broke, the screen door will not stay on the track, and the automatic shades are impossible to keep fixed. The ride up front is ok, but you will bounce off of the back seat. The bed is good if you use a memory foam. It has a propane generator, but it is extremely loud. We only use it now for carrying extra passengers, and it is great for tailgating. I have also spent over two thousand dollars for sensors for the Mercedes engine. I hear the new ones have air suspension ride which I am sure is great, and probable cuts down on the rattling. I’m sure there are many satisfied owners, so read the other reviews.
- William Rush, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-07 2015 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Airstream 3500 EXT is high end stealth camping. You can have all the luxury of home while driving on roads and to attractions bigger RVs and trailers can not. Bed is super comfortable and the van is easy to drive and park using back up cameras.
- Gary Gonder, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-01 2018 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Likes: Easy to drive and maneuver. Great on gas mileage. 17-20MPG, from mountains to flat plains. All safety features, lane assist, collision warning system, Mercedes quality cab, with Ultra leather (very soft and durable). Capable of pulling 5,000 lb, with the Mercedes diesel, no problems what so ever. One button to lower couch for sleeping. One lift on each jump seat, and you have a king size bed. Plenty of storage inside for two people. Great for traveling across the country... stay in BLM's, Cracker Barrels, and every fourth day get a traditional full hookup to dump tanks and take on fresh water. Instant hot water, no tank to keep hot. We moved down from a Diesel (Tiffen) pusher, and have greater flexibility going down town and parking. 20,000 mile oil change requirement (I did it at 10,000). Very easy to winterize. Dislikes: Propane fill is very low on the coach. Can not take family camping: this is a two man coach...very high end equipment. Two TV's makes no sense?! Rear TV sticks out in pathway 3".....Airstream could have done better. Can not launch a boat due to the generator being low near rear wheels....could get water in your oil (read this on the internet...not actual experience)
- Jan, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-16 2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Had a leak in bathroom Jose it was fixed incorrectly last year. Same dealer ( Windish in Denver) says they can not fix it until August it’s June now.The dealer said I should haVe called sooner they’re to busy. How was I to know it would break again. You call airstream customer service your in a que of more than 10 calls in front of you.
- Susan fox, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-17 2012 Airstream Interstate 3000 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Class B+ RV has been meticulously Maintained and Serviced since new. It looks and performs as only a Mercedes Benz can. The Diesel engine is powerful and a Fuel Saver. This unit is ready to travel the U.S. TODAY! Check out pricing on comparable models and you will see that it is priced $20,000 below book. It will come Inspected, Detailed and Serviced by a registered RV Dealership and a Certified Technician. It won't last long.
- Frank, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-19 2017 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Easy to drive and park, fits in a handicapped parking spot, Plenty of power and stability (with the VR Air Ride Suspension upgrade). We have seen 20 + MPG on long flat stretches and averaged 16.7 MPG on over 7,000 mile since last reset on odometer number 2. On board generator and solar make it easy to go off grid for days. Smaller size allows easy access in restricted State Parks while still being fully self contained. Can be serviced at most Mercedes Dealerships across the country. Overall an excellent vehicle!
- Brian P, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-24 2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Terrible manufacturing,175 issues in 1 month . Arrogant company trying to modify German quality into trash made in China installed in America shame for the rv industry Don’t buy it go to hotel better !
- Ron , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-17 2019 Airstream Interstate 19 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Do you take trade for my RV, would like to see if we can make a deal with a Trade for 2015 motorhome with 6,100 miles Have no money down just want to trade in for a smaller unit , I like this unit
- Lee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-05 2011 Airstream Interstate 3500 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Whoever designed the interior and overall look of the coach has really good taste. Love the quality of the interior cabinets the lighting and of course the stainless steel ceiling. I’ve had many problems with the sewer system I had replaced the Motor twice and unfortunately they do not have any back up system. They need to upgrade the battery system and how to charge it during the winter months.The generator runs on propane instead of diesel which is a hassle because you have to keep filling it up with propane. The air-conditioning is very loud they need to replace with multi speed fans or better yet duck the air through the cabinetry.Overall this is a good coach I’d recommend buying one but be prepared that many things break.
- Benjamin Kennedy, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-07 2014 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
BEWARE!!!!!The factory will not stand behind their mistakes they made in the original install of my interstate side Windows! I am just now showing rust around ALL my side windows that was created by Airstream allowing metal shavings to imbed in the outside perimeter paint. Now after 6 years the shavings are rusting and windows need removed and paint /body repaired. I have gone thru my dealer in San Diego and Airstream will not cover the $3,200 repair. They admitted this on other forums and paid to cover other faulty installs of the same problem but not after warranty. Problem is that’s when it shows up. Thought Airstream backed their problems they created. Really disappointed. I had six body shops confirm it happened in the factory at install and not treated correctly!!!!
- Richard Sharpe, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-04 2013 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I love my Mercedes Benz Airstream Interstate. It has been a better experience than I expected. We have enjoyed traveling and seeing our part of the country without the hassle of reservations, ect.
- Vickie, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-27 2016 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very poor quality. Love the vehicle features but it is broken most of the time. I have more miles taking it to RBM of Atlanta than I have trip miles. Easy to drive but the final finish quality was very poor from Airstream. Mine is 4wd at 160,000 plus with 9000 miles and something goes wrong every time I drive over 80 miles. By the way it needed two airbags but MB could only replace drivers side do to back order. Come back in three or four months and we can fix the one for my wife. Seems backwards to me. So another whole day at the shop POS FOR THE COST By the war sprinter dodge and the others mostly same parts and chassis do not let the MB tag fool you just means more money for service
- Ben Dickerson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-30 2017 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought new Foley RV Center. Must be a lemon. Had trouble with wiring, awning quit working, dump valves changed twice, battery and wiring, interior door panel fell off, sliding door has to be slammed for it to close properly. Recent dump valve replacement again, once I get this fixed I plan to sell RV ASAP. Airstream rep Jeremy terrible support. Always blamed 3rd party suppliers and no follw up. I was pretty much on my own to deal with problems. I'll never buy or recommend Airstream.
- Sam Hardy, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-08 2015 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very comfortable driving, I can drive all day and my back does not get sore. Handles much like my SUV, up and down hills and around curves handles nicely. My wife doesn’t hesitate to drive this, she is very comfortable driving even at high speeds. Size is large enough to be comfortable for two overnighting, comfortable for up to eight while underway, cruises very nicely, plenty of power, not a problem for parking in standard parking lots or accessing tight camping spaces. Quality of fit and finish is excellent, bed is comfortable for sleeping. Glad to have the EXT version which provides for the needed extra storage behind rear couch. Hitch easily handles my dual swing-away bike rack for two electric bikes.
- Craig Overstreet, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-24 2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our Interstate Grand Tour was perfect for my wife and I. Over the past year we travelled from Michigan to California including all the states in between - in several different trips - from 2 weeks to several months durations. We visited 10-12 National Parks, and saw innumerable incredible sights. We have thousands of incredible pictures and memories.
- Brian Decker, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-02-19 2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have really enjoyed the airstream. It is easy to park and fun to drive. You can seat 9 people no problem and sleep 4 with out any issues.with all of the extras that airstream puts on the coach makes it feel like home.
- Nick, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-25 2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We feel the Interstate is the perfect vehicle for two people to go touring. It is like driving a large SUV and we get a lot of comments about how good it looks. It has all the capabilities to go boondocking and the finish and conveniences inside are beautiful.
- John Kausch, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-17 2014 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Airstream Interstate Ext is extremely easy to drive! The model year has all the safety feature on the chassis- lane departure -distance warning side and rear etc It adverages 18 mpg and is very comfortable to travel in for two people and will travel well with 8 total. Comfort is good for sleeping the rear seat folds down and becomes a nearly king size bed which we added a memory foam topper to make it much more comfortable Overall it’s all you need and then some for two people to travel comfortably in
- David, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-04 2016 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The unit drives easier than my Chevy Colorado pick-up. It has all the external safety sensors, Forward, reverse, both sides and is supported with 4-5 cameras that are shown automatically in the rear view mirror. The turbo V-6 diesel gets right at 18.5 mpg while driving 69 mph with the A/C on. And, it is a lot quieter than most diesels.
- HARRY WRIGHT, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-11 2016 Airstream Interstate 3500 EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased a BRAND new Interstate and was very disappointed in the reliability of the unit. From day one, there was a propane leak... and then it was the remote shades. My wife warned me about the "gadgets" that look cool but when there are electronics involved, watch out! They stopped working on several occasions with as many trips to the dealer as breakage. And then the engine. It locked up due to a cheap, faulty sensor. Not once, but twice. That will strand you in the boonies for many, many hours if you're lucky enough to find a tow to a "authorized" sprinter dealer. And yes, don't think every Mercedes dealer can fix these things. They have to be Sprinter dealers as well! So, all and all, loved the finishes and details of my Interstate, just REALLY disappointed in the performance and reliability. BUYER BEWARE!
- Michael Dunn, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-11-03 2017 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have driven it from Ohio to South Florida. Quite, plenty of power, easy to drive, my wife and daughter have driven it. Large enough to store everything, small enough to park anywhere. Perfect vehicle to travel in.
- Brad, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: