Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2021 Thor Motor Coach reviews

3.2
Write a review
Liveability
3.5
Overall quality
2.4
Floorplan
3.9
Driving/towing
3.7
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

56 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ken

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-08-30

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 30FE

View listings

1.6
The 2021 Thor Freedom Elite is our second RV. When we paid the price for this new motorhome we realized we weren’t buying a Cadillac, but we didn’t expect to buy a VW Thing.” Let me preface my observations by saying that we did not trade in our 1996 Itasca Suncruiser because Camping World refused to take any trade-in RVs prior to 2000. I am so grateful we did not trade it in because right now, stranded in the middle of the Arizona desert, with virtually no help from Thor, we wished we had taken the 1996 Itasca instead of this 2021 Thor RV made from popsicle sticks and glue. Without any embellishment whatsoever I can honestly say that after 11,000 miles on this RV in just 2-months everything has malfunctioned right down to the broken zipper on the briefcase full of the warranty documents. We are currently stranded because a Thor “ask-a-tech” support mechanic told us that the parts we found lying under the generator were “apparently not tighten correctly“ which led to mounting feet and brackets of the generator to literally break off from the block. Good Sam will gladly tow our vehicle however they won’t touch anything because it might void the warranty from Thor. After calling Thor for The third time I was told that any outside mechanic performing necessary Workmanship to our vehicle would not ruin the warranty. Unfortunately the person I spoke to before him, a mature intelligent woman, said the total opposite. Luckily I purchased the emergency option with my warranty so Thor can eventually show up with a tow truck to tow my vehicle to the nearest authorized dealer for repairs and accommodate me and my bride during this inconvenience. That doesn’t however cover the cost of boarding my two dogs. In the meantime I wait for Thor to open up Monday morning (with very shortened business hours) to rescue us from the middle of the desert in the middle of summer. With all four parts that we have found broken off of the generator our best advice has been to “stay in place” so that you don’t further damage the unit. That advice came from someone who didn’t work for Thor or Camping World. Here are just some of the things that have been going wrong with this vehicle since our purchase in July of this year. All of these problems occurred while we were on a vacation; A plumbing leak in the wall, later identified as having a piece of yellow tape near the leak hole. Then, after this leak was fixed we made it 150 miles down the road before noticing another pinhole leak in the middle of a brand new hose that was installed at Camping World. Vacation once again interrupted as we drove to another Camping World outside of Atlanta to have this piece of hose replaced. By the way both leaks caused extensive damage to the RV and our property. We have been waiting since July to hear about the new wall, control board, Trim and other parts of the vehicle covered under the warranty. Camping World told us 6 to 8 weeks, BS! One final note on the plumbing issues. After fixing the pinhole on a plumbing hose we found inside the wall, a Camping World genius unhooked our oven and never hooked it Back up! We didn’t notice that problem until we were three days out from our East Coast home headed to the West Coast. The poorly constructed handle on the refrigerator had now broken twice. Whoever designed this was obviously a mental midget. From the start, the USB outlets, located conveniently throughout the vehicle, were shorting out depending upon which way you moved your cord, and we tried many cords. After explaining the problem to Camping World they told us that all USB outlets were checked and there were no problems, BS! Every handle on every cabinet and drawer was designed by an expert in torture. Each handle is sharp enough to rip open your skin with the slightest pass as all four corners of the handle are sharp as a knife. Anytime we slip Or lose balance we look for these handles so we aren’t killed. The main door design for the RV must’ve been an afterthought on a late Friday afternoon. Because there are no sliding steps, the door is positioned 6 inches closer to the pavement than any other part of the vehicle thus giving you quite a jolt if you hit a pothole at the wrong time and place. Yes, it’s scrapes and scratches on every little bump you go over. Maybe that’s why our main side door to the Thor Freedom Elite has twice locked us out. Yes, with all locks open and the only way to lock the vehicle is with a key we have been locked out twice because the door does not fit correctly. BTW, Thor Forgot to install the carbon dioxide detector.I could go on and on with the problems we have had with this vehicle which we will sell as soon as the warranty fixes the 50 things currently Wrong. When we finally do make it back to our home I’m going straight over to storage and give my 1996 Itasca a hug. Do not be fooled by what anybody tells you. This 2021 Thor freedom elite is a rolling deathtrap and I urge you never Make the mistake we did. I purchased from Camping World; after writing my review we experienced half of our air-conditioning system malfunctioning in the main living quarters. Upon return home we immediately took the RV to Camping World in North Charleston,SC. I gave them the lengthy list of problems and was greeted with empathy and concern however it’s now been two weeks since my service appointment and I have been unable to make contact with anyone in service, Even after leaving multiple messages. I was given the service managers name and eventually made it through to his secretary who informed me that the service manager does not respond to customers, his assistants do, Even though his voicemail says that “if you’re not satisfied I’m not satisfied. I’m here to help you make it right.“ So here we sit in limbo not knowing the status of our RV and Still not getting any satisfaction from Thors corporate office. I do not recommend buying any product from Thor and, after initially being treated like gold by Camping World, do not recommend purchasing an RV from this company.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (54)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

THEODORE FUERTES

California

Reviewed on 2022-06-02

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 24F

View listings

1.8
We have had this Brand New Thor Chateau for almost a year. We are real unhappy with it and have had to put and additional $20K into fixing the things NOT covered under the new motorhome warranty. So far we have had to replace the electrical, the suspension, the steering. We are saving to replace the heater. All these things are not covered under the warranty.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Talan

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2022-05-26

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach A.C.E. 30.1

View listings

5.0
We bought this to move our family across the country. 2 big dogs and one teenager. It was the best decision we made and worked perfectly. Both my husband and I could easily drive it. The dogs were able to lay down in the AC and relax with no stress. My daughter watched TV and had her own room to do what she wanted. There was more than enough room to bring our personal belongings and food and beverages. Although we stayed at hotels at night, and didn't take advantage of the camping side of this vehicle for the move, this camper van was solid. With 10 hour days of driving, it made for a great, safe enjoyable ride for the entire family. We highly recommend this vehicle.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary D Brown

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-05-12

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach 23TW Gemini

View listings

2.4
This 2021 coach was built on a 2020 Ford Transit chassis. I understand it was built during "Covid"; however the lack of quality control was more than excessive. Everything creaked, rattled, and groaned. Lots of wiring left loose, improper fasteners, poor fit and finish, lots of screws force threaded, drawer latches improperly installed, couldn't fill the water tank, I could go on and on. Resulting from frustration, I wrote a letter to the CEO, I was contacted by someone in customer service, and it was arranged to fix the water fill issue, replace some defective caulking, and attempted to quiet the slide drive mechanism from rattling down the road. I went through everything in the coach myself, replaced most latches, an re-engineered the entire skylight assembly , now the coach goes down the road quietly. As for the chassis, I had the entire driveline replaced, and it still vibrated, and then removed and replaced again after a driveline balance. I installed fender liners with dyna mat sound proofing, and the road noise is lessened. I think Thor and Ford can make good products, but this was not one of them!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peters Brian

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-04-16

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Aria 3901

View listings

3.4
2021 Thor Aria has never ending issues since day one. 19 months and Freightliner TPMS system still not fixed. Refrigerator broke on 2nd trip. No heat on first trip due to circuit board had poor connect and had one wire harness not even connected. What was funny the Quility Control that employee signed off of right next to wiring. Camping World Indy I don’t think every did PDI on unit. Main slide broke on 4th trip and had to have motor etc replaced. Cabinet bottom fell out on 4th trip. Toilet in main bathroom won’t flush properly and you have to flush so many times you almost empty out your fresh water tank. Had coolant light on from day one and after two trips finally found leak. Coolant reservoir ran dry on 2nd trip. I can go on and on. Beware the quality has been poor and Thor is interested in quantity over quality.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Carpenter

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-10

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Omni XG32

View listings

5.0
My wife and myself purchased a Super C motothome from Kevin M. Saturday March 5th 2022. We are excited and very happy with the purchase. Kevin was a great salesman and made us feel comfortable during our visit at the dealership. Thank You Kevin M. and the entire staff for helping us find and purchase the Super C. M. Carpenter.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gary

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-07

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 26HE

View listings

4.8
Storage space inside the motorhome was good enough for all clothing, food and the pantry held plenty for cans and other items that you need on a daily basis. the frig was good enough to hold for for several days. The stove was small but enough to cook a pizza or any other single item. Sleeping was a dream and very easy to get in and out of bed without bothering my partner.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Miller

California

Reviewed on 2022-03-01

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Magnitude SV34

View listings

1.0
Takes 4-6 months to get a service appt - an indication of the bat regarding quality. Service reps are pleasant but accomplish nothing specific and won't put information in writing. Thor makes little effort to stand behind their vehicles and the customer service when you have a big problem - non working slides - is like a game of hot potato. If you enjoy being frustrated and regretting your purchase, a Thor product is for you.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Parry

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-01-29

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Venetian 40L

View listings

4.0
This is my 3rd Class A Motorhome. We have owned it for 4 months. Bought it new. Have taken it on 3 long trips so far and each time I have had to call for roadside assistance.....5 times in all. Some very serious issues regarding Aquahot not working, slideouts not retracting, sliding doors falling off, brake air pressure alarm going off when outside temperature falls below 32 degrees. Tire pressure and heat monitors showing false readings including 401 degrees....been "fixed" twice and still not working properly, slide outs leaking water badly when it rains and many other issues. Getting close to regretting my purchase.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donna McBrier

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-01-02

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1 RUV

View listings

5.0
We bought our Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1 RUV new from Lazydays right before nothing was available and now there is a waiting list. We feel very fortunate to have this home on wheels. Everything we need for traveling across the country and back very comfortably. The drivers and passenger seats are more comfortable than our car seats and I love the pull out desk for my laptop. As my husband drives I'm using my laptop! Plenty of storage and being a smaller MH it's easy to keep clean. I love the color and finishes. My husband finds it very easy to drive and has enjoyed driving from the mountains to the dessert. We've stayed cool enough with the dash AC while driving. We were a bit concerned since the front window is so large we thought we might have trouble staying cool in high temps, it wasn't a problem at all, if anything, sometimes it was too cold. And it's easy to get the coach cooled down even while driving with the on board generator running the house AC. We have also stayed warm with the furnace when the temps have been below freezing. This MH takes good care of us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 56 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province