Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2017 Thor Motor Coach reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.8
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

247 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nick Burns

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2017-01-31

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TB

View listings

1.8
"Horribly disappointed" I had searched the rv scene for a while looking on some pretty particular features. I knew I wanted a Diesel engine, a couch rather than a dinette and a slide out the side so I could put a dirt bike on the back of the rv. I found the 2017 Gemini TB and it fit the bill. It is a purchase that I deeply regret as I have been very disappointed. The overall construction is extremely cheap. Multiple cabinet doors and a tv have fallen off their mountings just from road vibration. The hot water heater works 1 out every 5 times I try to use it. The unit came to me damaged with a broken valence and a dented ladder. The dealership ordered the parts months ago and they still haven't arrived from Thor. The bed support is incredibly cheap and flimsy. Other dealers had told me that Thor was cheap construction and I thought that would mean it just wouldn't have some of the nice fixtures that a Winnie or higher end brand would have. I didn't realize it would mean that it would literally fall apart while driving. At 10,000 miles and 6 months the rig seems more ready for retirement than repair. Nick
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (116)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Etheridge

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-05-31

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Vegas 24.1

View listings

3.4
The size of our Vegas 24.1 is perfect for parking in metro areas, running errands then slipping back into the camp ground. Easy to drive, it handles like a pickup truck. The Ford chassis is awesome: the 6.8L V-10 engine pulls like a locomotive! Six speeds allow a gear for every hilly situation without over-revving or bogging the engine. Small lighter weight class A on a proven chassis with great towing capabilities, and a low center of gravity for SUV-like handling, makes for an attractive package. Heated tanks allow easy 3 season use. Rear and side mirror cameras are great! Fold-down laptop space for the passenger is awesome! Wish every RV had it! Perfect size between teenie Class B and a 48-foot bus and handles better than a Class C ever could. The 24.1 is a great model because you can access the king-size bed on the road anytime without having to stop and extend a slide. Doors on the bathroom effectively double the size of the area when open and allow privacy, front and rear. Huge panoramic windshield, great swivel captain chairs up front, perfect drop down bed and couch that together sleeps 3 additional people. Outdoor entertainment system, outside shower, 3 burner stove, convection oven, microwave, great sleep area for master room! This unit is awesome. Plenty of room inside and out for two, we would never need anything larger. Owned an older Class C before and disliked the overhang at the front and sides limiting the view. Shower is nominal (27” x 27”) and so is kitchen sink. Thor’s quality control leaves a lot to be desired: fresh water tank hole shavings plugged the screen at the water pump, kitchen faucet hold-down ring broken, outside decals that split and crack within the first year because they were too cheap to use UV-resistant decal material and did not clear-coat them with UV-resistant clear-coat, kitchen cabinets that won’t stay shut around a corner because of misalignment of the catches, wallpaper in the bathroom) that peels up at the first shower (who puts wallpaper in a hot humid wet area???), etc. The vertical projector headlights at 3-inches in diameter are a joke! And 2-inch fog lights??? REALLY? Replacing the bulbs was a very difficult job that resulted in only a modest improvement. Thor mediocrity atop a truly exception chassis and drive train. To me, it was worth it, overall, and I would make the purchase again.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill May

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-05-27

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Four Winds 31Y

View listings

5.0
Traveled 1600 miles to and from the Gulf states staying in Biloxi ,Ms. for several days. On the trip down and back, we stayed in six different camp grounds with no problem with our equipment. The Auto Leveling Jacks worked great and the 16' Slide out opened up the living space. Everything worked as new with no problems. The Ford V-10 engine powered us down the highway at interstate speeds on cruise control. The onboard Generator started and stopped on remote command with adequate power. I
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vickie D Ray

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-05-13

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach 24.1 Vegas

View listings

2.8
I bought a Thor Vegas 24.1 and like it if I never had to drive it anywhere. Every time I have taken it out I ended up stuck in Park and finally paid $500 to find out if I changed a $3.00 fuse in the engine then I could get it out of Park and into drive. Every Time I put it in park. Then I find that when that fuse blows then I have NO brake lights, NO turn signals, or Rear lights. But the lights go out while I am driving. Very Dangerous. I changed out the Rear light fixtures (another $300) then the problem continues and someone said to check if the wiring was placed too close to the manifold. It is again in the shop to see if it can be fixed and I can safely drive it. Camping World would not fix it and said it was a Ford problem and to take it to ford for repair. It is at AutoNation Ford now. So far 1 week there while I put a planned trip on hold. I love the interior but the hot water heater is a problem.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Huffer

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-05-04

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 29FE

View listings

5.0
Well it is part of my inventory on my rv consignment lot in Elkhart, Indiana…I work with the seller directly and do not charge to display it there…right on state road 19 in Elkhart the RV Capital of the World…limited space available so contact me 574-850-7913…this class c has just 1500 miles and is in like-new condition..plenty of activity on her so if interested come on by 2301 South Nappanee Street Elkhart…
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Etheridge

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-04-25

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Vegas 24.1

View listings

4.6
We love this RV! Drove in from coast to coast with never a problem. Love to incredible view out the front -- truly panoramic! Drive like a large pickup truck or Suburban; effortless, easy to drive, great turning radius, handles MUCH better than our old Class C , especially in crosswinds. This is the shortest Class A out there and the shortest RV to offer a King-size bed! The 6-speed transmission offers a gear for every need and the Ford Triton 6.8L V10 sings like an angel and gets 10-12 mpg in the 65-70 mph range, depending on terrain and altitude. The only dislike is the tiny projector halogen headlights; I replaced all my bulbs with high-output LEDs and it really helped, but the problem is the tiny diameter of the lights themselves (3 1/2" hi/lo and 2 1/4 fogs??? really?!). Some people add a 32" lightbar behind the grill to light up the road. Build quality by Thor is sketchy and factory help is non-existent. Why can't they apply exterior decals that hold up to automotive standards??? All said, highly recommended!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Sanders

Missouri

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 23H

View listings

4.4
The Thor Freedom Elite 23H is very easy to drive and easy to park. Coach can park in a standard size parking slot. The E450 Chassis with the Ford V10 is very powerful. However, the standard settings that Ford uses was not allowing the coach to perform at it's best. Since I installed a performance software package, the coach does not pull down a gear when crossing overpasses and downshifting is so much better. Pulling a 20' trailer with a 5000 lb Honda Pilot from Louisiana to Kansas City, our gas mileage was averaging 8 to 9 mpg. It is easy to move around inside the coach and easy to clean. The 13.5 BTU AC keeps the coach cool and the heater keeps the unit warm on cool nights. The large, automated awning makes the coach enjoyable at the camp site. Great Coach!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

John Rockers

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2022-03-25

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Four Winds 31E

View listings

4.8
This is a great camper for a wide variety of people. From retired couples to families it has it all! Sleeps 10, 5 TVS, Full Queen bed Suite with actual bathroom. Amazing slide out, full side awning with LED lights this is the perfect entertaining RV!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

becky Cohick

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-03-10

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Windsport 34J Bunkhouse

View listings

4.0
They need to continue this floor plan for new models. This home has everything you need for away from home experience. This sleeps ten people comfortably, but for a small family that don't want to tear up and down the dinette and couch its perfect.The large outdoor kichen is amazing and keeps the heat and the husband outside,LOL. We tow a car but the fuel milage is better than most get with smaller diesels engines (Dollar wise). My husband has a lead foot and at 75 , thats amazing.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-02-23

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE

View listings

4.8
This is a great little C class motorhome. Simple and easy to drive. If you are looking for fancy this C class is not for you. This RV was made for function. Amazing storage and the tow capacity is more than most.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 25
  • 1 - 10 of 247 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province