Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau Class C reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
2.8
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.9
Factory warranty
2.8

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class C

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Russ o'Neal

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2017-02-24

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

View listings

2.2
We decided to sell our 15 year old 33 ft Jayco Designer traver trailer, which we never had a problem with, and move up to a class C RV. We should have kept the Jayco. I have zero issues the the Ford 450 chassis. I have many issues with the part Thor is responsible for. Poor workmanship, engineering and quality. The electrical is a night mirror. Wire running every were inside and underneath. Excess wire is bundled up and ty warped to the chassis. The Seiki TVs are terrible. They won't accept any RV park cable signals. Called Thor and they told me that's the way the TVs are made, you need a cable box to convert the signal. We have been on the road two months and one of the TV has alread quit working. We have had water leaks under the shower. I fixed that. The radio in the bedroom is broke, the radio and back up monitor up front is intermittent, Works when to feels like it. Cold air leaks in around the entrance door. The door is warped. The latch isn't aligned properly making the door hard to open and close. This is also why the door is warped. I tried to adjust it, but no adjustment is possible. The water check valve between the pump and fresh water tank leaks, causing the pump to cycle every few minutes. It also causes the fresh water tank to over fill when hooked up to city water. I would not recommend a Thor RV to an enemy. If you are considering purchasing an RV do your self a favor and stay away from Thor!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (74)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marc

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 29G

View listings

4.6
One of our dreams was to spend the early years of our retirement enjoying the National Parks and an RV always seemed like the best way to go. Since this was our first RV we wanted to get one that was easy to handle and it had to be around 30ft so we could get around and stay in the parks wherever possible. We found this used 2017 Thor Chateau that had the features we both wanted, the full kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom with queen bed and nice size wardrobe for her; and an outdoor kitchen, auto levelers and easy site setup that comes with this fully configured Class C for me. Since it was used I ran into some small maintenance issues such as 2 bad chassis circuit breakers that had to be replaced but overall i've done most of my own maintenance and i learned a lot in the process. I've seen bad reviews about Thor Motorhomes but this one has been very reliable. We have taken several 3,000 mile trips that lasted over 3 weeks with no issues whatsoever. We have 2 small dogs that travel with us so we decided for our next RV we'll get a class A (still 30 Ft but more storage due to sitting up higher) that has a King bed, and 2 A/Cs for those trips out west during the Summer. Even though the Chateau has an outdoor kitchen, mine didn't have an outside TV. We have always liked sports and tailgating so i want the full tailgating package on the next one. We liked the layout and reliability of our Thor so much that we just bought a Thor Hurricane 29M. I can only hope that this one will be as reliable as the last one.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deanna Cox

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-04-14

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

View listings

5.0
We did have a few issues when we bought our 2017 Thor Chateau 31W and our dealer couldn't fix the main one. We filled out a survey from Thor. They immediately contacted us, said they would have a driver come get our motorcoach and take it to Indiana to fix it and anything else we can think of, and then we could come get it. They said they would have it for 1 week and set a date for it to be picked up. It went just as planned. Less than a week from the time they picked it up they were calling and saying we could come get it. We drove up there and enjoyed meeting with the Service Manager and were offered a tour of the plant. They had checked it over thoroughly and fixed any little thing they noticed. Once it was ready to go they allowed us to stay in the rv sites they have onsite for as long as we wanted. This was so nice since we had never been in that area. We ended up making a great vacation trip enjoying seeing an area we may never have seen. Thor really came through for us, we think they are great, and we haven't had any more issues with our Chateau 31W!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Beth Padgett

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-10-24

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31E Bunkhouse

View listings

5.0
Spacious with full wall slide. Excellent lay out. Tows great 8000lb capacity. Handles well. Great for travel with children. Sleeps 8-10 comfortably. Bathroom and all beds accessible while underway.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Anthony DelDuco Jr

Maryland

Reviewed on 2020-10-01

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 22B

View listings

4.4
We purchased this slightly used in 2017 from Camping World. The buying experience was OK. Our sales person was not knowledgeable about RV's and how they operate but I was so we were able to get through. The deal was great from my perspective. We had a class "A" with numerous problems including a leak that could not be found that was causing damage. We owed a considerable amount of money on it. We got the trade paid off and still got the almost new RV for market price. We are very happy with the 22B. It has had one or two problems with the chassis and coach but nothing serious. Beware of the relays in the Chevy chassis. The don't do well sitting a lot and will fail. We have had two go bad already causing starting problems. It was an easy inexpensive fix but since the problem was intermittent it was hard to diagnose. I still prefer the Chevy Chassis over the Ford. I've had both and the Chevy has many advantages over the Ford. It is very easy to drive and park do to it's size yet the floor plan makes it a prefect size for me and my wife. It has ample storage and we were able to take everything we need with us. The quality of the build was better than what I expected. Overall we love our little motorhome and it has fit our needs perfectly. While many people have problems with Camping World our experience was ok. Their service ability is not what it should be. Warranty work takes forever and the quality of the work is questionable. We ended up taking ours to a private RV repair facility and were more that satisfied with the quality of service we received. If you're looking for a small motorhome and the ability to travel without a toad this RV makes it easy.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BEN PEACOCK

Georgia

Reviewed on 2020-08-26

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31E

View listings

4.4
This was the first RV I had ever purchased, and did it for my parents but I ended up using it more than they did. Driving was a breeze, set up was way easier than expected, and it has so many entertaining and 'comfort' aspects to it. As a family of 4 with two high schoolers, we have taken it out the past 2 Thanksgivings and spent some time out and about. It's been awesome, we were able to fully cook Thanksgiving dinners, and something we will always remember. Favorite things for me would be how easy everything is in functionality, the quality of kitchen for everything we need, the separate master bedrooom area and how nice that is, and the number of TV's for entertaining when you want to do that kind of thing too. Loved the fact that the unit could hook up to electric and water, but if you don't have access to those things it does have a separate water tank and generator. That was an awesome addition I never would have thought of as a first time buyer. Negatives for this unit would be that the bunk beds are a bit small and my son grew out of that quickly so he uses the bulkhead, but a positive on that was the bunk bed gave us more storage. That's another positive - the unit has all kinds of storage inside and out. The only other negative is the layout of the living room, while not horrible I do wish the driving and passenger seats would swivel, but in the grand scheme of things that is pretty minor. Most people we've ever had at the camper at one time was 8, and it was pretty tight, but fortunately we spent most of our time outside. I would probably cap it at 5 or 6 adults. Anyway, for our first RV experience I think this unit knocked it out of the park. The benefits significantly outweigh the negatives, and I would recommend this style camper to anyone looking for a good get away.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Del Averdick

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-03-15

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 26B

View listings

5.0
The 26B is a good size it’s not too large but it’s small enough to fit into our driveway. We have had six people sleeping in this unit without any problem. I really like the 18 foot awning, And it has LED lighting for nighttime barbecues. The outside TV makes it convenient to watch the morning news while I cook bacon and eggs. At night we can watch television in the evening from our queen size bed. Overall I think the 26B was a real winner for Thor motorcoach.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roy Brice

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-07-14

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

View listings

2.0
Plain simple quality control sucks. Purchased Spring 2017 went directly to a park first thing water leak under the sink, took it back to dealer, fixed it, next thing had leak under the shower, fixed, molding left off of paneling, two cabinet doors broke, Main large compartment water leaking water inside, they did not use marine plywood it all rotted I fixed it my self. Keys to the outside locks both broke off made out brass (stupid) now replacing all the locks my self. Leveling jack reservoir was dry,out side gutter drain for the roof some idiot bent it to fit it did not now water drips down the side onto the cab leaving a rust stain. Not bad for only having 2400 miles thats 2,400. I would not by another Thor product. If you do have them put everything under pressure kitchen sink bathroom sink shower floor all water lines, check for leaks , check all fluid levels before you sign, check the gutters have sales person get up there and look. Bottom line never will I by another.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Keher

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2019-05-29

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 23U

View listings

5.0
I found this vehicle to be perfect for two people driving cross country with a dog. I chose the Chateau model 23U which has no pullouts and found that the floor plan worked very well. The full-size bed in the back was very comfortable and the kitchen and bathroom were spacious and well placed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marcia

Texas

Reviewed on 2018-10-22

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 23U

View listings

3.8
Thor has many manufacturers defects overall. And the 23U with corner bed is terrible. But my fault for purchasing it. The Ford 450 is fabulous. The dually tire stems were missing so I had to take it to a tire shop for air and extenders. That could have been dangerous on the open road. I’m ready to trade it after only 15 months.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: