Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X Class A - Diesel reviews

4.4
Write a review
Liveability
5.0
Overall quality
4.7
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.8
Factory warranty
2.6

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Diesel

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Janet McConnell

Arizona

Reviewed on 2015-08-29

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

4.0
The Discovery 40x is nearly a perfect RV. It has a floor plan to that is perfect for entertaining or living in - not to mention for the casual user. I know everyone talks about the floor plan - but seriously, all the other models have people bumping into each other. The interior has elegant colors and upscale finishes (e.g. solid wood everything with crown molding and toe kicks). Lots and lots of counter top spaces, large convection microwave, paneled 4 door fridge, whole coach filtration, low shower threshold (rare these days on the newer vehicles). Everything has been built to last - the only thing I have had to do is to change the soap out, or a burnt out light bulb. And now that I have 2 AC units, I'll never go back to a measly one unit. Speaking of never going back - I'm never going back to a class C either. The big expansive window is perfect for sightseeing while you are still in your vehicle. The things I wish were different are: 3 step entry instead of 2, wood or tile vs laminate and carpet (though I have not had any issues with either), allow the passenger seat to recline fully into something like a bed. Wish there wasn't a step up on one side of the walk around bed. I'm used to it now though. I got lucky with this RV :)
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger Hicks

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-05-15

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

3.8
My wife and I contacted Premium Coach Group concerning a 2008 Beaver Marquis. These people represented the Coach as having only 71,740 original miles. On our test drive with the principal, I noticed that the SPEEDOMETER wasn’t registering. The principal of Premium Coach Group was driving, and he pointed out that he could read the SPEED on it’s Aladdin. He continued to advertise the Coach as having 71,740 miles ... as though the ODOMETER was still operational ... when he knew that to be untrue. Once we paid him and drove the Coach almost 2,000 miles to our home ... it still registered 71,740 miles!!! Even on the title, he certified to the state that the coach had 71,740 original miles. Additionally ... to defraud the state of Arizona out of sales tax, he paid a driver to drive us in Premium’s company car ... across the border into California and once there, had a notary in a small town certify that delivery was made there!!! In fact ... the Coach never left Premium Coach Group’s facility in Gilbert, Arizona. The driver informed us that Premium paid him 3 or 4 times a month to drive clients into other states, to falsify delivery claims. We were not aware, until we pulled up in the notary’s parking lot (he parked where the car couldn’t be seen) that the notary wouldn’t come out to verify that the RV wasn’t there. Premium also told us that they’d just put all new batteries in the until. That was untrue. Some batteries are DEAD. THE OLD ADDAGE ... “BUYER BEWARE” certainly would be appropriate here. Premium has refused to refund our money and pick up the Coach, which was purchased based upon their ads, documentation, and verbal representations. The principal tells us he doesn’t have the money, doesn’t have a dealer’s “floor plan”, and claims that he can’t borrow the money from a bank. If we had a unit to sell ... we’d be concerned about consigning our Coach to this organization ... for fear of getting dragged into a “law suit“ caused by his misrepresentations. With thousands of RV DEALERS to choose from ... BUYER BEWARE .... and .... SELLER BEWARE!!!!!!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kenneth gourley

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-01-21

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

5.0
This Motorhome is awesome in most every way. Quality of finishes, comfort of seating, square footage available, floor plan, room in the bathroom for bigger people. Storage everywhere, Semi's don't bother you when traveling down the road.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Susan Baroni

Mississippi

Reviewed on 2019-05-27

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

5.0
We love it ... just don’t have time to camp or travel like we plan on doing. It’s a great camper everything you need and then some , Garage keep.... extended warranty comes with it from Good Sam’s. Everything in good working condition.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Baird

Ontario

Reviewed on 2017-07-04

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

5.0
This is our third RV and, by far, the most comfortable we have owned. The floor plan is ideal and the turning radius is great. Drives like a dream. I prefer to drive this motor home than my car. We live in it for five months out of the year, with two cats, and we are quite comfortable.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Ontario

Reviewed on 2017-05-17

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

5.0
Fantastic RV. Drives well with a tight turning radius even with a 1,000 lb motorcycle on back and towing a car. Great to live in either just for the winter/summer or full time. Has almost all the amenities of home with the convenience of being on wheels.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Baird

Ontario

Reviewed on 2017-05-15

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

5.0
have lived in this RV for 4 winters in Arizona and have loved it. With a Hydra Lift motorcycle lift on the back and towing a Malibu Max, we have been able to cruise along at 70 - 75 mph with no problems except, of course, on very steep upgrades, where we are down to about 55 mph.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Baird

Ontario

Reviewed on 2016-10-06

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

3.4
Love the floor plan of this unit. We purchased it used and the previous owners did not take good care of it. We have put about $ 30,000 into it and now it is in wonderful condition. We drive to Arizona every fall and live in it for 5 months with no problems.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Laurie

Virginia

Reviewed on 2016-09-05

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

4.0
I love my 40X. There is plenty of room to live in for extended periods of time. We live in ours for 4 months each year during the winter months. There is plenty of storage and it is easy to keep clean. We tow our vehicle with no problems.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Baird

Ontario

Reviewed on 2015-02-08

RV reviewed2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Shop this RV

4.0
Traded our previous 2003 Discovery 39C in for this 40X and couldn't be happier. Love the floor plan and driving the unit. We live in it for 4 months in the winter in Arizona and feel like we are at home. With two of us and two cats we have plenty of room. Lots of storage and great design. Had some mechanical problems when we bought the unit from La Mesa RV, including having to replace the fridge, but everything seems to be working fine now.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: