Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2005 Keystone reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.8
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.7
Driving/towing
4.7
Factory warranty
1.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

fayspainting

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2020-12-21

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Cougar 281EFS

View listings

2.6
I want to let everyone know about the cheap quality of most of the materials used to build, the craftsmanship looks like a 10 year old did it and did not care about anything from squareness to clean-up in the vents to cutting holes for plumbing, so many things about the workmanship, it would be pages.Super disappointed and would bet the cheap Chinese would do better, just take a good look at all angles before you lay down hard earned money for this 3rd string rig!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Albert Clark

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-12-16

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Outback Sydney 30RLS

View listings

3.6
I had just gotten a job to move from Oklahoma to Florida when there was an RV show in town and we went there and bought a 30 foot keystone outback Sydney fifth wheel. It towed great through a near hurricane all the way to Tampa and we lived it it for three months very comfortably until we found a permanent house to purchase. A few months later I went out to make my monthly check on the fifth wheel in storage and discovered the rubber roof had shrunk leaving a gap all the way around The edge of the roof except for the front clip. Keystone and the roof manufacture said it was rat damage but nothing else in the storage area had that problem and how did Rich get of the roof when there was nothing within 30 feet. My insurance company graciously I said that it was storm damage and paid out $9000 to replace the roof. Later that year we took it back to Oklahoma to visit and a 15 foot section of the side fiberglass came off on the highway in Louisiana on the interstate. My insurance company paid $6000 repair it. We took it on a 200 mile trip to go sightseeing with no problems, then a three day trip to South Florida with no problems It sat for another two years and as we were getting ready to take another long trip we discovered the rubber roof had leaked again and destroyed the floor from front to back where it was spongy. The insurance company refused to pay for a second new roof. It was less than a year old when Keystone and the roof manufacture both refused to fix it calling it rat damage. I will never buy another Keystone product. I now have an all secondhand 2002 motorhome.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Duntrukin

California

Reviewed on 2020-11-30

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Cougar 244RLS

View listings

5.0
Excellent small (26') RV for a couple or single person, rear living floor plan gives room and good view of TV. Slide is deep 40" and 6' wide, great for the dining area. Light weight pulls easily, could use a half ton to pull it.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Ploss

Missouri

Reviewed on 2020-08-25

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Outback 25RSS

View listings

5.0
Very well designed and spacious travel trailer. Easy and light weight to tow and small enough to get into tight spots. But the two slide outs give it a big living area when you set up camp. Appliances work both electric and propane so you can hook up or live off the grid. Very pleased with this camper.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

New York

Reviewed on 2020-03-07

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Raptor 3612

View listings

4.2
What is interesting about a 5th wheel as opposed to a tow behind is the stability factor. I'm sure the weight is also a factor. Our first camper was a tow behind and at that time we had a Toyota Tacoma 1/2 ton pickup. First off the stabilizer bars were necessary. They were a pain to hook up. The camper sis not have slide outs. The first year we had it we spent 3 months traveling to Texas from New York and back. I just knew things had to be better. I shopped around and found that things could be better. My wife Had a list of what see wanted, first on the list a shower that you could actually use. the Keystone has that,12 gallon tank with fast return. No more camp ground showers. I wanted to be able to drive a stable unit. The 5ht wheel is hands above a tow behind. The list goes on but I will simply say a 5th wheel is heaven to hell for towing. We also found life on the road is interesting if you are in a cramped space. Getting a camper with a couple of slide outs made a big difference. It made it feel like you were home no matter where you were. So the other thing was the garage in our Keystone Raptor is 12' the tow behind was 10', but what a difference a couple feet makes. The fact you could actually get around in the garage with our bike parked and have a gas tank for the toys is a big help as well. Keystone made life easy. on board generator is helpful when boon docking. The fiber glass body instead of aluminum panel exterior is another up grade and the pass though storage area helps as well.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Matthews

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-02-12

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Laredo 284BH

View listings

3.2
Bought this unit in 2006 used. Seemed to be a nice clean unit and the floor plan worked for our family.The dealership we purchased it from did an awesome job getting it ready for us and cleaning it up for delivery. We picked it up and took her home the next day. 1 month later the roof started to leak at the front. Apparently water was getting in at the seam between the rubber roof and the front cap. Called the dealer and they told me the unit was as is but they could repair. Hmmm, should have read the contract closer. I took it to a local dealer and they pulled the old lap sealant and applied new. Leak stopped...for a couple of months and started again. By this time water was starting the de-laminate the front cap and it was getting wrinkly. Took it back to the local service center and they redid all the seals, but they told me these RV's were notorious for leaking. OK. So in the course of the following year the water heater tank cracked at the element fitting (I lived in South Florida so it was not freeze related), the control board of the fridge had to be replaced, the gray tank developed a crack and needed to be repaired, the motor for the slide needed replacing, and the unit had water leaks everywhere. As I am comfortable with DIY projects and spent every year working on the roof making sure the leaks were no more...but the damage was done. I had de-lamination on the front cap, front side walls and rear wall. When I went to trade it in they gave me scrap value. I wont go into the molding falling off everywhere, the plumbing leaks that I chased.....basically if you see a mid 2000 Laredo RV....unless you like projects, walk away.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John G

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2019-07-23

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Cougar 285RL

View listings

3.6
My first 5th wheel was a new Montana made in Canada before the "buy out"-- Fantastic---Great sold it with 60,ooo miles on it. Then a New KZ toy hauler, loaded, generator etc. Sold it with 25,000 miles. OK 5th wheel.. Then a used Cougar 31 foot with 2 bedrooms. Good unit sold it with 20,000 miles. Then decided to try a trailer light weight 22 foot. Springdale sold after one 8,000 mile trip. Sway, bounce you name it, nothing like a 5th wheel. Next I brought a Cougar 285 RL, actual 31 foot. 4 season unit again. This the unit I have for the past 3 years. I have been to Indiana where trailers are built. Little disappointment in watching these trailers being built. I feel quality control is lacking. Here's my most recent complaint. I came back from a short trip and realized a had a water leak in my fresh water tank which is in the rear of the unit. I removed the hard plastic sheeting to inspect the water tank. I discovered the 1 1/4 inch SELF TAPING SREWS that hold the sheeting, were put into the frame sticking right up 1/4 inch below the water tank. As the tank expands and bulge it hits the screws and creates a hole. In My case there was two screws under the right side of the tank. I contacted Keystone to see if there a way to make a repair of the 1/32nd inch hole, believing this must of happened before. I was told No and I should replace the tank. Remember about 600-800 dollars to replace it. The unit is out of warranty. NO Help. In an effort to help not have this happen to other people I suggested a note be sent to their engineering to change the length and location of the screws holding the plastic. I was told it's not needed and all quality control protections were in place. I reminded her that if good quality control was in place I wouldn't have a hole in my water tank from a screw that is too long and in the wrong place. I got no help. Though research I discovered people who had the same problem and it was suggested using well test plugs. This a rubber insert, that has a screw and nut Drill a small hole to match the plug size and put it in. When you tighten the screw it tightens down on itself making a water tight plug. My leak is fixed. No help to Keystone.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Matthews

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2018-07-18

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Laredo 284BH

View listings

3.2
I bought the RV Used in 2008. It was three years old and appeared to be in good condition. Floor plan was perfect for our family in that it had a rear bunkhouse and a single slide that made a larger living area. First year we noticed that the unit had leaks all over. Front cap leaked so badly that water was running into the closet and would pool within the outside storage area. Rear cap leaked, seals around the slide leaked and the the slide also leaked inside the cabinet that was over the table. Every year I would remove the old sealant and install new sealant but could never get the unit dry. The front cap eventually wrinkled and the luan rotted away. Sides de-laminated and I had to screw the fiberglass into the aluminum frame to keep them from pealing away when I was driving. I did contact Keystone early on in the process and they told me it was out of warranty and was obviously a maintenance issue anyway. I have looked at "for sale" pics of many 2005 Laredos of the same model and I noticed most of them had wrinkling of the front caps which leads me to believe it was a design defect and I am sure they knew about it. I traded it in this year, and basically had to pay the dealer to take it. I know it was an older unit now, but I worked very hard to try to take care of it but it was of poor design to start with so it was a loosing battle. What worries me is Laredo was a good name, but was bought by Thor Industries which is who my 2005 was made by. Thor seems to have a checkered reputation. Worries me more is that really there are a ton of "Companies" out there manufacturing RV's but really they are part of what appears to be about 3 companies. I think we have a monopoly going on here and maybe this needs to be looked into. I did buy a new unit but I went in with my eyes wide open and I saw the most units had obvious quality issues in manufacturing. I went into the dealership when it was raining hard to see if the units I liked seemed to have leaks...yup...Looked at a Coleman that had a serious leak issue...saw a Keystone with puddles in the storage area....the one unit I chose eventually was dry and showed no signs. Overall build quality seemed okay but things like cabinet closer needed to be adjusted or tightened. Had it a month and already the Dometic AC has a bad blower (out of balance...seems to be a very common problem with this AC unit based on the web feedback). I had a 1972 Winnebago Motor Home was running and everything was working and the interior was in decent shape. I took it from South Florida to the Carolina Mountains regularly. I sold it in 2001 and the new owner drove it away. I am not a newby to RV'ing and I know how to maintain a unit to last. SO to the point...Keystone is owned by Thor, so if you don't like Keystone do to build issues, then you have to also suspect Airstream, Bison, CrossRoads, Cruiser RV, DRV, Dutchmen, Entegra Coach, Heartland RV, Highland Ridge, Jayco, Keystone, K-Z, Livin' Lite, Redwood, Starcraft, and Venture RV. Long gone are the days where brands meant something.... Oh, don't buy a 2005 Keystone Laredo 28BH!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KEG

Indiana

Reviewed on 2017-07-14

RV reviewed2005 Keystone Cougar 304BHS

View listings

5.0
I would highly recommend this unit to any family with children. The layout includes the forward bedroom (the parents); a fold out sofa that sleeps two; a dinette that converts to a bed and sleeps two; as well as two bunks in the rear slide out area. Two adults and 2-4 kids can be easily accommodated on any camping trip. There is plenty of storage including under the forward bed; pass through storage in the front of the unit; another storage area mid unit; and a slide out tray (cap. 200#) at the rear of the unit. The dry wt. is 7310# so it can be towed with a 1/2tn vehicle. All-in-all the best travel trailer (3rd) I have ever owned.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province